Crawford returned as head of umpires association

Senior umpire Shannon Crawford was last Thursday unanimously returned as President of the Georgetown Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association (GSU&SA) after the association held its annual general meeting at the Clerical and Commercial Workers Union,  headquarters on Quamina Street.

International television umpire Nigel Duguid was returned unopposed as the Vice President, while the unchallenged Arleigh Rutherford will serve as Secretary for another term. Ronald Williams performed the duties of returning officer and was  assisted by Malcolm Peters.

Former international umpire Eddie Nicholls and Montgomery Chester were retained as Treasurer and Assistant Secretary Treasurer respectively, while Zaheer Mohamed was elected as the Public Relations Officer. Committee members include Heuvel Cunha, Ryan Banwari, Javed Persaud and Nolan Hawke.

Crawford thanked the members for re-electing him and urged the young umpires to continue training for their remaining exams, meanwhile Mohamed urged his fellow executive members to work collectively towards the development of the game and to maintain a high level of umpiring.

Around the Web