GCB awards ceremony on tonight

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) is hosting its Annual Awards Ceremony for players and officers tonight at the Georgetown Cricket Club pavilion.

Clubs, players, coaches, umpires, trainers and others are expected to be feted at the ceremony celebrating their achievements this year.

In 2011, then West Indies leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was named Male Guyana Cricketer of the Year while West Indies fast bowler Sabrina Munroe won the award for female cricketer of the year. Demerara Cricket Club won the Club of the Year award, while other individual nominations were handed out.

A selection panel led by the Chairperson Rajendra Singh, GCB Territorial Development Officer Colin Stuart, National Selectors Rayon Griffith and Nazimul Drepaul along with GCB administrative personnel will select the nominees based on the various criteria given by the board.

Among the awards expected to be given are Guyana Cricketer of the Year, Club of the Year, Most Improved Player of the Year, Junior Cricketer of the Year, Senior Domestic Cricketer of the Year, Senior Regional Cricketer of the Year, Emerging Cricketer of the Year, Regional under-15 cricketer of the Year, Regional under-17 cricketer of the Year and Regional under-19 Cricketer of the Year,trainer, coach, administrator, curator, umpire and cricket journalist.


Director of the West Indies Cricket Board Baldath Mahabir is expected to be the guest speaker at the ceremony set for 7pm.




Around the Web