GRFU names 23-man squad for NACRA 15s in B/dos

The Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU)  has released the names of its players to kick start their NACRA 15s championship campaign on May 17 in Barbados.

The local ruggers who were last year’s Southern Zone runner up to Trinidad and Tobago will lock horns with the host at the Garrison Savannah in St. Michael.

Once Guyana beats Barbados, the national rugby team will then play last season’s Trinidad and Tobago in Guyana on June 17 in what will be considered as the final.

A 23-man team mixed with relatively new and exciting prospects along with seasoned veterans will represent the Golden Arrowhead.

The unit is scheduled to wing out to the Land of The Flying Fish on two flights (Wednesday and Thursday).

The roster is below: Ryan Gonsalves (Captain), Richard Staglon (Vice-Captain), Chris Singh, Ronald Mayers, Claudius Butts, Rondell McArthur, Rickford Cummings, Grantley Williams, Jason Tyrell, Dwayne Schroeder, Filon Thompson, Clive Powell, Avery Corbin, Theo Henry, Ryan Dey, Delroy Gordon, Jacques Archibald, Jamal Angus, Kevon David, Cyon Kitt, Carl Lewis and Leon Greaves.

Coach-Clinton Clarke of GDF, Manager-John Lewis, Physio-Barrington Browne.

The chairman of the selection committee, Mike McCormack, coach, captain and manager will field questions at a press conference which will be held at the GOA building before departure.

Around the Web