Wortmanville/Bent Street crowned Inter-Ward champs

Wortmanville/Bent Street were crowned the inaugural Stag Beer sponsored Grassroots Foundation Inter-Ward knockout champions edging North East La Penitence 3-2 on Sunday at the Georgetown Football Club (GFC) ground, Bourda.

Following a minute’s silence for deceased North East captain Orvin Millington, Wortmanville/Bent Street took the early lead in the 29th minute through a sublime John Waldron effort.

Waldron, after being teed-up by a simple Sheldon Holder pass from just outside the right side of the area, unleashed a powerful flat first time left footed effort that rocketed into the lower left hand corner of the net.

Wortmanville/Bent Street almost doubled their lead in the 41st minute but veteran Anthony ‘Awo’ Abrams was denied at point blank range by custodian Derick Carter after collecting a Dwight Peters right sided pass.

Abrams, though, would double the Wortmanville/Bent Street lead in the 48th minute of the second period, finishing to the right hand corner from a tight angle on the left side of the box, after pouncing on a botched clearance by the North East Centre half in the centre of the box.

North East would cut the deficit to one two minutes later with Randolph Wagner directing his header down the middle of the woodwork following a right sided cross from a resulting corner kick.

The momentum of the matchup would change sides as North East La Penitence began an aerial attack from resulting set piece opportunities.

Jorel Tyrell almost levelled the score line in the 55th minute through a header which sailed agonizingly wide of the left corner from the centre of the box, after he rose high above everyone to meet a right side corner kick.

Hubert Pedro would rifle his powerfully struck left footed strike narrowly wide off sneaking into the lower left hand corner in the 62nd minute as North East began to assert themselves in the matchup.

Brave goalkeeping by Wortmanville/Bent Street ‘s Devon Charles would deny Phillip Rowley’s right footed attempt at point blank range in the 69th minute from the within the right side of the penalty area.

The woodwork would then come to the rescue of Wortmanville/Bent Street unit in the 74th minute as Solomon Austin’s powerful header from the centre of the box, following a right sided corner kick came crashing off the crossbar.

Under pressure for majority of the second period, Wortmanville/Bent Street almost increased their lead three minutes later but a right footed volley from Peters from within the right side of the area, was denied acrobatically by the diving Carter.

Wortmanville/Bent Street would eventually increase their advantage in the 80th minute as Sheldon Holder netted, lobbing his right footed strike over the advancing keeper down the middle of the goal, following a one-on-one situation in the centre of the box.

However there would be another twist to the tale as Andrew Murray Jr. netted six minutes later through a flat strike to the bottom of the net from within the left side of the box, to setup a tense and gripping final minutes.

Wortmanville/Bent Street would hold on to clinch the title as best football ward and the $1,000,000 first prize and championship trophy. North East La Penitence for their efforts collected $300,000 and the second place trophy.

In the individual award section, Wortmanville/Bent Street custodian Charles was adjudged to be the event’s most valuable player for his outstanding displays between the woodwork. In the earlier third place matchup, Laing Avenue defeated North/South Ruimveldt by a 3-0 margin.

Around the Web