Daredevils receive Royal thumping in Ahmedabad

Man of the Match: Ajinkya Rahane for his half-century

(IPLT20) Rajasthan Royals further solidified their position on the Pepsi IPL 2014 points table by registering a 62-run win against Delhi Daredevils in Ahmedabad. A Shane Watson-less RR team that was led by Steve Smith set their opponents a mammoth 202-run target, which proved too steep for DD to scale as they ended up at 139 for nine after 20 overs.

Earlier, Kevin Pietersen won the toss and chose to field first. Ajinkya Rahane and Karun Nair, who opened the innings for RR, gave their side a good start. They scored 12 and 16 runs off Rahul Shukla and Siddharth Kaul respectively to take the score to 43 after five overs. However, Shahbaz Nadeem trapped Nair (19) leg-before in the sixth over. However, thanks to a Kevon Cooper six off the last ball of the powerplay, RR were at 52 for one at that point.

Man of the Match: Ajinkya Rahane for his half-century
Man of the Match: Ajinkya Rahane for his half-century

Cooper (32) then took charge of proceedings with his unorthodox batting style. Thanks to his 16-ball knock, the RR score was propelled to 93 for two by the time JP Duminy claimed his wicket in the 11th over. However, Sanju Samson came in to bat next and took the attack to the DD bowlers as Rahane played a vital anchor role – the duo continued to plunder runs off Kaul and Shukla. Rahane (64) then brought up his half-century in the 16th over with a boundary, which also helped the Royals breach the 150-run mark. However, the diminutive opener got bowled off Nadeem in the next over.

At 167 for three, Stuart Binny (0) took strike opposite Samson. But Tahir had him stumped before he could get off the mark. The DD leggie then dismissed Samson (40) to finish off the 18th over. But Ben Cutting and James Faulkner then stepped on the pedal by smashing a couple big hits to score 17 runs off the 19th over. And while Cutting (8) was run-out off the last ball of the innings, Faulkner (23*) had already struck two maximums in the 20th over to take RR’s score to 201 for six.

In response, the Daredevils lost Mayank Agarwal (17) in the third over with just 19 runs on the board; Faulkner claimed his scalp.

Dinesh Karthik (3) was the next to depart; Dhawal Kulkarni got rid of him, leaving DD on 30 for two. And while the hard-hitting Duminy (8) walked in next, even he departed soon; Pravin Tambe got the better of him in the seventh over. Pietersen (13), who was holding up one end, was then cleaned up by Rajat Bhatia. With the run-chase going off track, RR further strengthened their hold on the match as Bhatia dismissed Ross Taylor (4) before he could change his team’s fortunes.

Meanwhile, Manoj Tiwari was the lone batsman who kept the scoreboard ticking. But he did not get much support from Kedar Jadhav (4) either; the middle-order batsman was run-out with the Daredevils further slipping towards another loss. Cutting then saw the back of Nadeem (1) in the 14th over. And then, Binny bowled Tahir (4) out to take RR a step closer to an emphatic win.

With the scorecard reading 91 for eight in 14.4 overs, Rahul Shukla joined Tiwary. But after the duo had added 29 runs – the biggest partnership of the DD innings – Cooper sent Shukla (13) back to the dugout. And while Tiwari (66*) notched up a half-century, his team could only manage 139 for nine in their 20-over quota, handing RR a big win heading into the business end of the tournament.



Red Force routed for 135

An excellent spell of left-arm seam bowling from Raymon Reifer and another aggressive knock from Chandrapaul Hemraj, placed the Guyana Jaguars in a strong position at the end of day one of their  Cricket West Indies (CWI) Regional four-day, final round encounter against the Trinidad and Tobago Red Force at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence yesterday.

Sixth edition of Milo U18 schools football launched

The 6th edition of the Milo U18 Secondary Schools Football Championship, was officially launched yesterday at the Beepat Headquarters on Dennis Street.

Winston George, Daniel Williams certain for athlete of the year awards

Winston George (senior male), Compton Caesar (junior male) and Daniel Williams (youth male) are almost certain to take home athlete-of-the year awards in their respective categories.

Brooks hits hundred to give Pride early edge

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – Barbados Pride captain Shamarh Brooks hit his fourth first-class hundred to lead his side’s batting against Jamaica Scorpions in the Regional 4-Day Championship yesterday here.

Dharry ready for victory on ‘Bad Blood’

Guyana’s most exciting bantamweight fighter, the entertaining Elton ‘The Bully’ Dharry (21-5-1) will return to action tomorrow night on the undercard of the ‘Bad Blood’ card billed for the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built stabroeknews.com using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now