DeNobrega sprints off with Ballot Box Martyrs race

Paul DeNobrega crossing the finish line ahead of Alanzo Greaves and Chris Holder. (Orlando Charles photo)

On the back of recent sublime form, Team Alanis’ Paul DeNobrega continued his victorious ways on Sunday.

After winning the 50-mile Seven Seas Road race at West Demerara last Sunday, DeNobrega took his talents to the Ancient County and literally sprinted off with the top honours of the Ballot Box Martyrs event.

The 20-year old wheelsman showed tenacity and grit throughout the gruelling, sun baked 55-mile trek then displayed his sprinting ability on the home straight by surging ahead of Alanzo Greaves (2nd) and Chris Holder (3rd).

“The race was tough” said DeNobrega. “We really had to work hard and the heat didn’t help but I was confident winning because my form is good …now since I’m getting to train better.”

DeNobrega won the Chris Jagdeo-sponsored event in 2 hours, 12 minutes and 50 seconds.

The race started in front of Freedom House in New Amsterdam but minutes later, Greaves, junior riders, Michael Anthony, Shaquel Agard and Team Coco’s Junior Niles and Hamza Eastman established a five-man break at the Canje Bridge.

This quintet worked in tandem and managed

Sunday’s prize winners posing with their earnings following the annual Ballox Box Martyrs 55-mile road race in Berbice. (Orlando Charles photo)
Sunday’s prize winners posing with their earnings following the annual Ballox Box Martyrs 55-mile road race in Berbice. (Orlando Charles photo)

to hold off the peloton until Marlon Williams, Robin Persaud, Albert Philander and Alonzo Ambrose connected with them at No. 36 village.

At Eversham however, Agard, Anthony, Niles and Greaves attacked leaving the rest behind.

Meanwhile, a chase pack of DeNobrega, Paul Choo-Wee-Nam, Holder and five others were in hot pursuit.

The eight-man peloton then connected with the leaders at No. 48 village.

In No. 63 village DeNobrega tried to stage a breakaway but was picked  up by Anthony, Greaves, Agard, Eastman, Holder with Paul Choo-Wee-Nam just behind.

The seven-man strong unit then journeyed together until about 300m from the finish.

As expected, a fierce sprint ensued but DeNobrega had enough left in the tank to hold off Greaves and Holder by two bike lengths.

The annual event attracted 40 starters. It is one of the activities used to commemorate the death anniversary of Parmanand Bholanauth and Jagan Ramessar who were shot and killed at No. 63 Village 41 years ago.

Quick Results

Top Seniors

Paul DeNobrega

Alanzo Greaves

Chris Holder

Michael Anthony

Hamza Eastman

Paul Choo-Wee-Nam



Michael Anthony

Shaquel Agard

Alonzo Ambrose



Junior Niles

Jaikarran Sookhai

Linden Blackman


Mountain Bike

Ozia McAlley

Julio Melville

Emmanuel Gayraul



Marica Dick


Veteran Over-60

Monty Parris






Windies to tangle with dangerous Irish in World Cup qualifiers

LONDON, CMC – West Indies will go head-to-head with nemesis Ireland in their quest reach the International Cricket Council (ICC) 2019 Cricket World Cup, after being installed in Group A of the World Cup qualifiers in Zimbabwe starting in March.

Windies taking proactive approach, says Holder

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – West Indies captain Jason Holder says planning has already begun for the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup qualifiers in March as the Caribbean side looks to book its spot in the 2019 one-day showpiece in England.

Gonsalves looks to return to winning ways

National lightweight champion, Dexter ‘Cobra’ Gonsalves will look to shake off some rust when he returns to the ring Saturday night at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall on the ‘Bad Blood’ card.

Williams sets sights on CARIFTA gold

With his historic 2017 campaign officially in the rear view mirror, star athlete Daniel Williams and his coach, Johnny Gravesande have their sights set on an even better 2018 season.

St Louis, Chung granted injunction

A High Court judge has granted an interim injunction restraining the TT Table Tennis Association (TTTTA) from taking any further action pursuant to its decision to select players Aaron Wilson and Yuvraaj Dookram for the Commonwealth Games.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now