WICB president Cameron to deliver feature addressat GCB Awards Ceremony

President of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Dave Cameron is expected to deliver the feature address for the 2014 Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Annual Awards Ceremony tomorrow evening at the Georgetown Cricket Club Pavilion. According to information coming from the GCB, awards for the Most Runs, Most Wickets, MVP, Under-15/17/19 males, Junior Cricketer of the Year, Most Improved Player of the Year, Senior Domestic Cricketer of the Year, Senior Regional Cricketer of the Year, National Team Awards and the prestigious Male and Female Cricketer of the Year Awards will be given out tomorrow night.

Additionally there will also be awards for Cricket Journalists, Corporate Awards, Special Service Awards and the Club of the Year those who have played pivotal roles in the development of the sport during the year 2104.

Veersammy Permaul, who has so far captured 32 wickets from just four matches in the inaugural Franchise based Cricket League four day tournament, managed to topple the efforts of every other bowler in the Caribbean as he sits on the top of the WICB’s Professional Cricket League’s 4-day as the leading wicket-taker which makes the left-arm spinner a strong contender for the best bowler/most wickets awards.

Dave Cameron
Dave Cameron
June Ogle captain of the Guyana Women’s team.
June Ogle

Meanwhile Narsingh Deonarine who has scored two centuries and taken nine wickets and is the leading run-scorer for Guyana in the Regional 4-day tournament thus far with over 300 runs, is a good applicant to cop the Regional Cricketer and possibly the Most Runs awards as well.

Devendra Bishoo who has also returned to some good bowling form both locally and regionally has 21 scalps from the four Regional 4-day matches played so far and is third on the leading wicket takers list could be considered for the Most Improved Player Award.

Youngsters like Shimron Hetmyer, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kemo Paul and other Under-19 players could find themselves in the front-runner position to receive awards in the junior categories after a successful year of U-19 cricket.

The senior category for Male Cricketer of the Year could see Shiv Chanderpaul, 2013/14 winner Leon Johnson, Permaul, Deonarine, Vishaul Singh and others who were standout during 2014 being earmarked as possible nominees while the female award will see a tussle between Shemaine Campbell, Treymane Smartt or 2013 winner experienced June Ogle.

Last year Johnson, who was Guyana’s Best batsman and leading run-scorer was named male Player of the Year while Ogle received her award after sterling performances for the Women’s National team as well as locally. The event is expected to start at 19:00hrs sharp.

Leon Johnson
Leon Johnson

Around the Web