TSC defeat PSC by 37 runs in NBS second division cricket

Transport Sports Club (TSC) Sunday defeated hosts Police Sports Club by 37 runs in a low-scoring encounter of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)/New Building Society second-division limited overs competition.

The visitors scored 158 all out from 36.4 overs after winning the toss and opting to bat.

Police’s Steven Harris captured 5-19.

TSC returned to restrict the hosts to a paltry 121 all out in 30.5 overs. Charwayne McPherson (65) the principal scorer and Shawn Massiah (4-25) the chief wicket-taker were mainly responsible for TSC’s victory.

McPherson received support from Sunil Singh (26) before Harris’s late introduction wrecked the latter part of TSC’s innings. The pacer, who recently joined Police after moving from the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) was supported by Kelvin Leitch and Trevor Benn, who claimed four wickets between them.

When the lawmen batted, Mark Rhobe (35) and Shahid Gittens (22) were the only batsmen that scored more than 20 as Massiah’s bowling proved to be lethal. Oslyn Datson chipped in with two wickets for TSC.

Across at the Gandhi Youth Organisation (GYO) ground, hosts GYO recorded an emphatic 139-run victory over minnows Diplomats to increase their chances of a semifinal berth.

Batting first the hosts were bowled out for 192 before returning to rout their opponents for a pitiful 53 runs.

Chris Deonarine top scored with 52 while Triton Liverpool contributed 44 for GYO. They added 70 runs for the second wicket.

Rickford Mohammed (5-24) and Horace Mohammed (3-29) combined to take eight wickets during GYO’s innings.

In their turn at the crease, Diplomats succumbed to GYOs Mark Hamilton (5-7) and Antonio De Freitas 5-33, who shared all 10 wickets between them as GYO won by 139 runs.




Around the Web