BCB shortlists U17 players to commence training for upcoming Inter County competition

Following two trial matches last weekend, the selection committee of the Berbice Cricket Board has shortlisted 20 players to begin training under former West Indies U19 captain and national all-rounder Andre Percival.

According to a press release, the final 14 players will be announced this weekend after the conclusion of the of the 2014 Republic Bank Guyana Limited Inter Zone U17 final between NA/Canje Combined and Lower Corentyne at the Albion Sports Complex ground.

The players are:-Adrian Sukwah, Sasenarine Sookoo, Zameer Inshan, Kevon Sinclair, Steve Deonarine, Kris Ramnarine, Joshua Harrichand, Matthew Hardyal, Asif Ally, Deon Sinclair, Filan Crandon,

Sylus Tyndall, Rameshwar Samaroo, Raymond Vankenie, Daniel Samaroo, Karran Rajpaul, Abdur Ajib, Brandon Stewart, Junior Williams and Javed Karim.

Players will contacted by manager Rabindranath Saywack with regards to practice sessions. However, players can also make contact with manager Saywack on 660-0049 or 232-0255.

Meanwhile, in the first trial match played Saturday between Adrian Sukwah’s XI and Joshua Harrichand’ XI, saw Sukwah’s men being dismissed for 112 with ex National U15 player Steve Deonarine top scoring with 19.

Kevin Ramkishun and Sukwah scored 15 runs each. Bowling for Harrichand’s XI, Brandon Stewart and Rameshwar Samaroo took 3 and 2 wickets respectively.

In reply, Harrichand’ XI opted to bat out their allotted 50 overs, reaching 148 for 9 with Sasenarine Sookoo top scoring with 36. Filan Crandon made 34 and Daniel Samaroo 32. Karran Rajpaul picked up two wickets for Sukwah’ XI.

The second trial played on Sunday at the Cumberland ground in Canje, saw the Harrichand’s XI beating their opponents by 45 runs after batting first and posting 175 for the loss of 5 from 50 overs. Kevon Sinclair stroked 58, Kris Ramnarine (31), Zameer Inshan (30) and Mathew Hardyal an unbeaten 21.

Sukwah’ XI were then restricted to 130 despite Sookoo scoring an unbeaten 66 and contributions from Steve Deonarine (21) and Kevin Ramkishun (19). Kevon and Deon Sinclair shared five wickets between them for the winning side.

Around the Web