Rugby team for Hong Kong Sevens to be selected after tomorrow’s trials

Following trial matches tomorrow, the Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU) will select the team to compete in the HSBC Hong Kong 7s tournament scheduled for March 27-29.

According to a release from the union, 16 players have been shortlisted from the 20-man National Sevens Squad to participate in the trials.

The trials will feature three 7s games contested between two select teams supervised by Technical Director, Angus Thomson, and Head Coach, Theodore Henry.

Six players from Australia, Trinidad & Tobago, New York and Texas have joined the Sevens Squad and will be participating in the Trials.

Guyana, the NACRA Sevens champions along with runner up, Mexico qualified to represent NACRA at the championships in Hong Kong.

Guyana is pooled in the first round of the tournament to play Zimbabwe, Spain and Tonga.

Twelve teams will be contesting the second division of the Hong Kong Sevens, the winner will qualify for the first division of the Sevens World Series.

Also in the second division are: Russia, Papua New Guinea, South Korea, Tunisia, Hong Kong, Uruguay, Brazil and Mexico.

Around the Web