Jaguars end with a roar

- Crush Windward Volcanoes by innings to complete dominant season

ROSEAU, Dominica, CMC – Guyana Jaguars needed just about an hour to dispose of Windward Islands Volcanoes by an innings and ten runs, and put a definite shine on their capture of the inaugural WICB Professional Cricket League here yesterday.

The victorious Guyana team following their outright win over the Windward Islands yesterday.
The victorious Guyana team following their outright win over the Windward Islands yesterday.

Resuming the day on 113 for six and requiring 31 runs to avoid an innings defeat, Volcanoes lost their last four wickets for 21 runs, in the space of 67 balls at Windsor Park.

Opener Tyrone Theophile, unbeaten on 45 overnight, added just two runs before he was bowled by left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul for 47, in the morning’s third over with three runs added.

Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo then ripped through the lower order to claim the last three wickets which fell, to finish with four for 38 while Permaul ended with four for 30.

Already assured of the title prior to the start of their final round encounter, Jaguars ended with 148 points to be the clear winners of the competition.

They registered seven victories in their nine outings, with a single defeat – coming at the hands of Barbados Pride in round three last December.

The Windwards, meanwhile, who started the final round assured of at least third place but challenging for second, ended on 109 points.




WINDWARDS 1st Innings 283

GUYANA 1st Innings 427

WINDWARDS 2nd Innings

(overnight 113 for six)

D Smith c Johnson b Beaton 20

T Theophile b Permaul 47

K Lesporis lbw b Permaul 15

J Robinson lbw b Permaul 0

R Currency c Johnson b Bishoo 12

*L Sebastien lbw b Permaul 0

+Denis Smith c and b Deonarine 9

S Shillingford c Permaul b Bishoo 3

M Matthew not out 14

K Peters c wkp Bramble b Bishoo 0

D Johnson c and b Bishoo 2

Extras (b7, w2, nb3) 12

TOTAL (all out, 43.1 overs) 134

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-59, 3-59, 4-85, 5-86, 6-106, 7-116, 8-126, 9-128, 10-134.

Bowling: Beaton 5-1-26-1, Deonarine 6-0-21-1, Permaul 16-7-30-4, Barnwell 4-0-12-0, Bishoo 21.1-1-38-4.

Result: Guyana Jaguars won by an innings and ten runs.

Points: Guyana Jaguars 18, Windward Islands Volcanoes 3.

Toss: Jaguars

Umpires: Lennox Abraham, Christopher Taylor.



Around the Web