Shabazz names U23 squad

The Golden Jaguars u-23 squad for the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) leg of the 2016 Olympic Qualifiers was officially named yesterday by Head-Coach Jamal Shabazz.

The squad, which is expected to depart local shores tomorrow, consists of goalkeepers Anthony Whyte and Jason Cromwell alongside Daniel Whyte, Less Charles Critchlow, Joshua Brown, Clive Williams, William Europe, Sherwin Skeete, Stephan Ramsey, Jermaine Junior, Trayon Bobb, Kadell Daniel, Daniel Wilson, Leo Lovell, Kareem Knights, Delon Lanferman, Jamaal Harvey, Shaquel Agard, Domini Garnet and Pernell Schultz. Guyana is grouped with hosts Aruba, heavyweights Cuba and Antigua and Barbuda. The Golden Jaguars will open their campaign on June 24th against Antigua and Barbuda. They will then play the hosts two days later before ending their campaign against giants Cuba on the 28th. All matches will be contested at the Antigua Recreation Ground in St John’s.

Winners of the resulting groups will progress to the final round of the tourney between August 14th and 16th to contest an elimination tournament. The top two teams from this section will advance to the 2015 CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying Championship, joining the trio of Mexico, USA and Canada.



Around the Web