Victory Valley Royals eclipse Jets

-in Linden basketball showdown

Victory Valley Royals and Retrieve Raiders clinched contrasting victories over Amelia’s Ward Jets and Block 22 Flames when the Linden Amateur Basketball Association (LABA) sanctioned Banks Supreme Malta Open Christmas Championship continued on Monday.

The Royals downed the Jets by a 60-57 margin in the marquee showdown at the Mackenzie Sports Club (MSC) hardcourt. Chris Williams recorded a game high 22 points while Nevin Glenn and Harold Adams supported with 17 and 14 points respectively.

On the other side, Allister Webster netted 15 points while Orin Rose, Adrian Webster and Parish Cadogan scored 10 points each. Trailing 20-7 at the end of the first period, the Royals battled back to take the lead in the second period, outscoring the Jets 23-5 to enter the half time break at 30-25.

The momentum changed hands in the third period as the Jets outshot Royals 20-13, retaking the lead in the process with the score locked at 45-43. Nonetheless, the Royals turned the tide in the final period, netting 17 points to the Jets’ 12 points to clinch the hard-fought contest.

Meanwhile, Raiders extinguished Flames by a 68-31 score line. Derwin Roberts top scored with 16 points while Duel Garner, Keon Cameron and Alexander Rose chipped in with 11, 11 and 10 points apiece. For the loser, Aubrey Johnson scored 10 points.

Seizing control of the fixture at 13-7 at the end of the first period, the contest was effectively over in the second stanza as Raiders netted 16 points while restricting Flames to a meagre three points to lead 29-10 at the half.

The rout continued in the third quarter as they outshot their opponent 17-9 to enter the final period ahead at 46-19. Raiders eventually completed the lopsided match as they outscored Flames 22-12.

Action in the event is slated to continue today at the same venue with another doubleheader. In the opening fixture at 19:00hrs, Bankers Trust Falcons will oppose Royals while Amelia’s Ward Jets will lock horns with Half Mile Bulls from 21:00hrs.

The six-team tourney is being contested in a round-robin format, with the resulting top four clubs advancing to the semi-final round.

Around the Web