Semi-final line-ups decided in WADA football tourney

Den Amstel will oppose Uitvlugt while Young Achievers will faceoff with Pouderoyen in the semi-final round when the WDFA 2nd Annual Josiah Memorial Christmas Football Championship continues Sunday.

Last Sunday at the Dem Amstel ground, the home side downed Beavers FC by a 2-0 score line in their first match of the tournament.

Following a scoreless opening period, the hosts broke the deadlock in the 49th minute as Jamal Perreira netted, pouncing on a headed clearance by the Centre half down the middle of the 18 yard box, before rifling his first time shot past the advancing keeper into the back of the net.

Gavin Graham sealed the win 11 minutes onward, latching onto a right sided cross within the box, before volleying his effort beyond the reach of the custodian to his right side. Due to the win, Den Amstel will oppose Uitvlugt on the 20th at the same venue in the semi-final round.

Uitvlugt in their earlier fixture, crushed Bagotville by a 4-0 margin. Meanwhile, despite losing to Stewartville by a 1-0 margin in their matchup, Young Achievers will advance to the semi-final round after the former was found guilty by the coordinators of fielding an ineligible player.

Following the conclusion of the matchup, Young Achievers launched a protest on the contentious player Dwayne Charles who is supposedly registered with another club and never legally transferred to his current suitors.

According to the tourney coordinators, following checks of the player transfer record, it was confirmed that Charles is ineligible to be fielded by Stewartville and as such, the team will be disqualified from the event.

Young Achievers will now oppose Pouderoyen at 18:30hrs for a berth in the finale after the latter defeated overcame Eagles 3-1 on penalty kicks after normal and extra time ended 1-1 in their opening match of the event.

Winner of the event will collect $500,000 and the championship trophy while the runners-up will receive $300,000 and a trophy.

The third and fourth place finishers will receive $200,000 and $100,000 respectively and the corresponding accolade. The tourney will conclude on Sunday December 27th at the same venue.

Around the Web