Gurdayal, Khan propel Chesney into play-offs

— Berbice 2015 New Building Society Second Division limited overs cricket competition

Chesney, Sunday, defeated Kendall’s Union B to emerge winners of Zone One of the 2015 New Building Society (NBS) Second Division cricket competition in Berbice. The team is now through to the last 16 play-offs of the competition.

Chesney was led to victory by Youardan Gurdayal who slammed 104 an innings which included eight fours and two sixes.

He was supported by former Guyana T20 batting sensation Imran Khan whose innings of 78 included two fours and one six.

Imran Khan
Imran Khan

The two batsmen featured in a 171-run second-wicket partnership as Chesney reached 247 for 6 in 30 overs.

Kendall’s Union B replied with 151 for 7 in 30 overs.

Richard Dhuman struck two fours and two sixes in the top score of 69.

Darshan Chalitar
Darshan Chalitar

In another encounter, Bath off-spinner Satesh Latchman took 5-31 from 6.1 overs to help dismiss Monedderlust of No. 5 for 129.

Bath, however, were dismissed for 103 in reply as Monedderlust medium pacer Royden Peters picked up 5-5 from five overs.

Number 48 Challengers defeated Fighting Marine by 38 runs. Batting first,

Narine Badrinarine scored 60 with four fours and two sixes to help No. 48 Challengers reach 135 for 5 in 25 overs.

In reply, No. 64 Fighting Marines were dismissed for 97 in 21 overs with leg-spinner Budhram Samaroo taking 5-19 from five overs.

Other Summarised scores:

At Kilcoy, Fyrish Road beat Chesney Riders by four wickets.

Chesney Riders 132, 21 overs. Nazrudin Bux 36. Zamin Hamid 3 for 29, Saif Latchana 2 for 10, Asif Gajnabi 2 for 24 and Hassan Hussain 2 for 27. Fyrish Road 135 for 6 in 29 overs with Saif Latchana 63, Rakesh Rajnauth 2 for 10 and Isaac Kamaludin 2 for 25.

At No. 71, Crabwood Creek Rising beat No. 71 by four wickets.

No. 71, 149 all out, 30 overs. Shabir Khan 35. Darshan Chalitar 2 for 12, Satesh Baldeo 2 for 25 and Divendra Chandradat 2 for 37. Crabwood Creek Rising, 152 for 6 in 23 overs. Darshan Chalitar 54 and Errington Seergobin 43 not out.

At Bath, Blairmont Community Centre A beat Bath Spartans by 13 runs.

Blairmont Community Centre A 147 in 24.1 overs. Ritesh Bridgelall 46, Mahendra Singh 41. Terry Surijbali 4 for 10 and Ravi Goosai 3 for 56. Bath Spartans 134 in 27 overs. Navin Ramnauth 29, Chetram Dhanprasad 26. Javed Karim 2 for 1, Ritesh Bridgelall 2 for 29 and Avishkar Sewkarran 2 for 33.

Around the Web