Chances squandered as Uitvlugt Warriors edge BV/Triumph

A Seon Bobb 88th-minute strike propelled Uitvlugt Warriors into the quarterfinal round, squeaking past Beterverwagting (BV)/Triumph 1-0 when the 2nd Annual Stag Beer Super XVI Knockout Football Championship commenced on Wednesday.

With the fixture heading for the extra time period at the Leonora Sports Facility on the West Demerara, Bobb upon receiving a left-sided through pass, raced into the right side of the box, before rifling his right-footed shot into the roof of the right corner.

Prior to the fixture’s end, Akin Curry should have given BV/Triumph the lead in the scrappy contest, racing into the left side of the box only to fire his tame effort straight at the advancing custodian in the 18th minute.

On the other side, Uitvlugt despite dominating possession fashioned their best chance in the 63rd minute as Daniel Flay upon collecting a flat left-sided cross within the right side of the box, fired his effort over the crossbar.

Similarly, the chances continued to be squandered on the opposite side as Delroy Dean after collecting a left-sided pass in the 67th minute at the top of the box, fired his effort wide of the left corner, with only the keeper in his path.

Reon Hopkinson of the East Coast of Demerara unit was also guilty of wasting a golden chance, racing into the right side of the box in the 85th minute, only to fire his effort wide of the goal with only the keeper in his path.

BV/Triumph were eventually made to pay for their profligacy in front of the woodwork as Bobb netted to seal his team’s place in the next round. Also claiming a place in the next round was Beavers who hammered Herstelling 6-2 in the event opener.

Winner of the tourney will pocket $1,500,000 and the championship trophy while the second, third and fourth-place units will receive $500,000, $300,000 and $200,000 respectively and the corresponding accolade.

The event will continue today at the Victoria ground with another doubleheader. In the opening fixture at 18:00hrs, Ann’s Grove will oppose Stewartville while the feature contest will pit home side Victoria Kings against Stewartville from 20:00hrs. The finale on January 1st is set for the Leonora Sports Facility.

Around the Web