B/ce softball teams for Unity Cricket tournament

Four softball teams from Berbice will participate in the Legacy and 007 Promotions’ ‘Unity Cricket’ at the Providence Stadium on January 30, a press release from the organisers yesterday stated.

“The organizers have collaborated with corporate sponsors and received support from the Guyana Cricket Board and the Guyana Floodlights Softball cricket Association,” the release added.

The event will see a galaxy of International stars competing under lights in a T20 match for the President’s trophy and $1 Million.

In other scheduled matches, Berbice Masters will oppose Demerara Masters (over 45 years-of-age) in a 15-overs-a-side affair for a prize of $150, 000 while a Demerara female team will oppose Berbice with the winner of the 15-overs-a-side game collecting $200,000.

Andre Rusell
Andre Rusell
Ramnaresh Sarwan
Ramnaresh Sarwan
Ricky Deonarine
Ricky Deonarine

Two of Berbice’s top two teams, including Karibbee Boyz, should provide a stern test for city sides Wolf Warriors and Regal in what promises to be two exciting semi-finals with the winners clashing for $500,000 and a trophy under lights in the final. This game will precede the T20 match which starts at 8pm the release stated.

The action begins at 11:00hrs with the first 10/10 semi-final between Wolf Warriors and one the of the Berbice teams before the second Semi-final between Regal and the other team from Berbice commences immediately after that game.

The 10/10 final will start at 17:30hrs after a Demerara Masters Team face a Berbice Masters in a 15-over fixture and the Demerara girls take on their counterparts from Berbice.

Left-hander Wayne Jones, Ricky Deonarain and Lloyd Rooplall are expected to feature for the Demerara Masters while Berbice Cricket Board’s President, the big hitting Anil Beharry should represent his home county although he now resides in Georgetown while Troy Kippins and John Sumir are also expected to play for Berbice.

The Berbice girls will depend on West Indies female players Shemaine Campbell, Tremayne Smartt and Erva Giddings while Demerara should have in their line-up Latoya Smith, Kavita Yadram and Haseena Mohamed.

Regal’s Richard Latiff and Shien Gittens and Wolf Warriors’ Mark Harold and Amit Ria are expected be in action before the largest crowd they have played in front of since Berbice softball has a large following.

An anticipated capacity crowd should also see players like Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie, Rayad Emrit, Nicholas Pooran, Leon Johnson, Rajendra Chandrika, Christopher Barnwell, Jonathon Foo, Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Anthony Bramble, Steven Jacobs, Raymond Reifer and Jevon Searles on show. The organizers, the release added, are expecting confirmation from two of most exciting T20 players in the world.

Around the Web