Three-title triumph for Shomari!

— dominates National Junior Squash C/ships with wins in U13, 15 and 17 categories

Benjamin Mekdeci and Taylor Fernandes clinched the under-19 Boys and Girls titles respectively but it was Shomari Wiltshire’s day at the Georgetown Club’s squash courts yesterday.

Wiltshire, son of former Caribbean’s men’s singles squash champion Garfield Wiltshire, showed that he had all of his father’s squash skills and probably even more with a dominant display not seen regularly in junior squash tournaments locally.

The young Wiltshire carted off three titles to be easily the most outstanding player when the Woodpecker Products Limited Junior National Championships climaxed yesterday winning the U13, U15 and U17 titles.

The respective winners and medalists posing alongside veteran tactician Carl Ince following the conclusion of the Guyana Squash Association sanctioned Woodpecker Products Ltd Junior National Championships.
The respective winners and medalists posing alongside veteran tactician Carl Ince following the conclusion of the Guyana Squash Association sanctioned Woodpecker Products Ltd Junior National Championships.

In the U13 final he defeated Samuel Ince-Carvahal 11/0, 11/2, 11/7.

Wiltshire also won the U15 category ahead of Anthony Islam and the U17 division from Alex Cheeks.

As expected though, Mekdeci took the Boys’U19 title overcoming a game Alec Melville 8/11, 11/7, 11/3, 11/5 after downing Anthony Islam 11/4, 11/5, 11/4 in the semi-finals.

Taylor Fernandes and Larissa Wiltshire are fierce rivals and yesterday Fernandes was to get the better of her arch-rival defeating Shomari’s sister Larissa in straight sets 11/7, 11/8, 11/4 in the Girls’U19 final.

Also in the Girls under-17 section, Makeda Harding clinched the title after crushing Rebecca Low 11/2, 11/9, 14/12 while Abosaide Cadogan claimed the Girls under-13 title, crushing Haley Carpenter 11/9, 11/5, 11/3.

Similarly, Michael Alphonso defeated Mohyryan Baksh 11/3, 11/2, 11/7 to lay claim to the Boys under-11 accolade whilst Louis DaSilva was crowned the Boys under-9 champ, defeating Shiloh Asregado 11/6, 11/6, 11/4.

In other results of the day, Chad De Abreu defeated Wade Beckles 11/1, 11/3, 11/6 in the Boys under-9 section. In the lone Girls Under-11 fixture, Beau Fernandes defeated Isabella Ramjohn 11/2, 11/5, 11/4.

In the other results of the Boys under-11 division, Demetrius De Abreu downed Ethan Jonas 11/9, 11/8, 11/0 while Ethan Jonas defeated Mohyryan Baksh 11/8, 11/6, 11/7 and Kamir Khan overcame James Mekdeci 6/11, 11/7, 12/10, 11/7.

Continuing in the Girls under-13 section, Madison Fernandes overcame Kirsten Gomes 11/9, 9/11, 10/12, 11/3, 11/5 and Aliyah Persaud mauled Teija Edwards 11/1, 11/0, 11/1.

In the other results of the Boys under-13 section, Demetrius De Abreu brushed aside Zachary Persaud 11/6, 11/2, 11/5 while

Gianni Carpenter downed Michael Alphonso 11/7, 11/8, 11/6 and Dominic Collins bested Nechemiyah Levans 11/6, 11/6, 11/0.

In the Boys under-15 section, Lucas Jonas edged Jason Gomes 6/11, 12/10, 11/8, 11/3 while Anthony Islam defeated Gianni Carpenter 11/2, 11/2, 11/1 and John Phang brushed aside Jason Gomes 11/6, 11/8, 11/9.

The lone Boys under-17 fixture witnessed Alex Cheeks defeating Saywack 13/11, 11/7, 11/7. In the other result of Boys under-19 section, Ritthew Saywack squeaked past Matthew Phang 11/8, 10/12, 17/15, 11/6.

The Most Improved Girl and Boy awards went to Cadogan and Alphonso respectively while Harding and Shomari Wiltshire copped the Most Outstanding Girl and Boy awards respectively. The complete results of the event as follow

Boys Under 9

Louis Da Silva – Winner

Chad De Abreu – Second

Shiloh Asregado – Third

Girls Under 11

Paige Fernandes – Winner

Beau Fernandes – Second

Isabella Ramjohn – Third

Boys Under 11

Michael Alphonso – Winner

Demetrius De Abreu Second

Ethan Jonas – Third

Kamir Khan – Fourth

Girls Under 13

Abosaide Cadogan – Winner

Madison Fernandes – Second

Kirsten Gomes – Third

Aliyah Persaud – Fourth

Boys Under 13

Shomari Wiltshire – Winner

Samuel Ince-Carvahal

– Second

Gianni Carpenter – Third

Michael Alphonso – Fourth

Boys under 13 Plate

Demetrius De Abreu – Winner

Zachary Persaud – Second

Dominic Collins – Third

Girls Under 15

Makeda Harding – Winner

Maya Collins – Second

Boys Under 15

Shomari Wiltshire – Winner

Anthony Islam – Second

Daniel Islam – Third

Samuel Ince-Carvahal

– Fourth

Girls Under 17

Makeda Harding – Winner

Rebecca Low – Second

Maya Collins – Third

Boys Under 17

Shomari Wiltshire – Winner

Alex Cheeks – Second

Ritthew Saywack – Third

Girls Under 19

Taylor Fernandes – Winner

Larissa Wiltshire – Second

Makeda Harding- Third

Rebecca Low – Fourth

Boys Under 19

Benjamin Mekdeci – Winner

Alex Cheeks – Second

Alec Melville – Third

Ritthew Saywack – Fourth

Around the Web