Deonarine joins Volcanoes, Pooran to Hurricanes

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – Out-of-favour Test batsman Narsingh Deonarine is set to feature for a third team in as many seasons after he was snapped up by Windward Islands Volcanoes in the players draft for the upcoming WICB Professional Cricket League season here yesterday.

Narsingh Deonarine has been picked up by Windward Islands Volcanoes.
Narsingh Deonarine has been picked up by Windward Islands Volcanoes.

The left-hander, who played the last of his 18 Tests and 31 One-Day Internationals for West Indies last year January, turned out for two-time defending champions Guyana Jaguars in 2014 before making the switch to Trinidad and Tobago Red Force last season.

In fact, the 32-year-old Guyanese was picked up by Leeward Islands Hurricanes in last year’s draft only to switch to Red Force in a swap that saw Jamaican Nkrumah Bonner head to the Hurricanes.

Deonarine finished with 494 runs last season at an average of 35, to be the second highest run-scorer for Red Force and one of four players to top 400 runs.

In the previous season, he amassed 514 runs to help Jaguars clinch their first title under the new professional format.

Nkrumah Bonner
Nkrumah Bonner

Deonarine joins fast bowler Delorn Johnson, batsman Jerlani Robinson, former West Indies Under-19 all-rounder Tarryck Gabriel and Grenadian fast bowler, Sherman Lewis, as the players chosen by Volcanoes.

The only other significant development in yesterday’s draft was Trinidadian Nicholas Pooran’s capture by Hurricanes.

An attacking left-hander and wicketkeeper, the 20-year-old Pooran played his only three first class matches to date for Red Force in the 2014 season.

He subsequently sustained injuries in a vehicular accident and was sidelined for several months, and only recently made a return to the game.

Meanwhile, Red Force have picked up Jamaica and West Indies fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell who was limited to four games for Jamaica Scorpions last season.

Nicholas Pooran
Nicholas Pooran

Scorpions have made no major additions while Barbados Pride have secured Trinidadian leg-spinner Kissoondath Magram and former West Indies Under-19 left-arm seamer, Preston McSween.

Title-holders Jaguars picked up Trinidadian off-spinner Vikash Mohan but their side has remained largely unchanged.


GUYANA JAGUARS – Shimron Hetmyer, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Vishaul Singh, Assad Fudadin, Raymon Reifer, Shiv Chanderpaul, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Keon Joseph, Anthony Bramble, Steven Jacobs, Paul Wintz, Romario Shephard, Vikash Mohan

BARBADOS PRIDE – Suliemen Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Kemar Roach, Ashley Nurse, Kevin Stoute, Jomel Warrican, Kissoondath Magram, Kyle Corbin, Omar Phillips, Preston McSween, Justin Greaves

JAMAICA SCORPIONS – Nikita Miller, Damion Jacobs, Devon Thomas, Chadwick Walton, Andre McCarthy, John Campbell, Rovman Powell, Paul Palmer Jr., Brandon King, Marquino Mindley, Trevon Griffith, Derval Green, Dave Bernard Jr., Jason Dawes, Nicholson Gordon

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO RED FORCE – Kyle Hope, Evin Lewis, Marlon Richards, Imran Khan, Jon Russ Jagessar, Stephen Katwaroo, Jason Mohammed, Yannic Cariah, Yannick Ottley, Jeremy Solozano, Sheldon Cottrell, Rayad Emrit, Roshon Primus, Kharry Pierre, Bryan Charles

WINDWARD ISLANDS VOLCANOES – Devon Smith, Tyron Theophile, Liam Sebastien, Andre Fletcher, Johnson Charles, Sunil Ambris, Shane Shillingford, Kenroy Peters, Mervin Mathew, Kyle Mayers, Narsingh Deonarine, Delorn Johnson, Jerlani Robinson, Tarryck Gabriel, Sherman Lewis

LEEWARD ISLANDS HURRICANES – Nkrumah Bonner, Keacy Carty, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Jeremiah Louis, Kieran Powell, Quinton Boatswain, Hayden Walsh Jr., Nicholas Pooran,  Jermaine Otto, Elwin Berridge, Jacques Taylor, Gavin Tonge.

Around the Web