Johnson, Bishoo in test squad to face Pakistan

Leon Johnson and leg spinner Devendra Bishoo are the only Guyanese players named by the West Indies selectors in the test squad to face Pakistan next month in their three-test series.

Johnson, who made his test debut against Bangladesh in 2014, has played six test matches, scored 307 runs and has an average of 30.70.

He last played for the West Indies against India in the third test match at Queen’s Park Oval, a match heavily affected by the weather so much so that only 22 overs were possible.

 Alzarri Joseph
Alzarri Joseph

Bishoo, who like Johnson was a member of the West Indies team for the third India test at Port-of-Spain, has played 18 test matches capturing 59 wickets at an average of 40.05. His best bowling figures are 6-80 against Australia in Dominica in 2015.

Left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican who played the last of his four Tests against Australia Down Under last January but was subsequently overlooked for India’s tour of the Caribbean over the summer, has been recalled.

He will be part of the 15-man squad which will be led by Jason Holder and which comprise those players who featured in the four-Test series against the Indians.

Warrican made his international debut on the tour of Sri Lanka last October and followed up by playing two more Tests on the tour of Australia.

He has taken 11 wickets at an average of 46.

Despite intense speculation over his future, the 24-year-old Holder will take charge of the side. There was widespread speculation the Barbadian would have been axed from the position after nine games in charge without a single win.

Devendra Bishoo
Devendra Bishoo

Opener Kraigg Brathwaite will again serve as vice-captain while 19-year-old speedster Alzarri Joseph, who made his debut against India, has been included once again.

West Indies will play one three-day tour match against a Pakistan Cricket Board Patron XI starting October 7 in Sharjah before facing Pakistan in a historic opening day/night Test at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Leon Johnson
Leon Johnson

The second Test is carded for the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi from October 21-25, with the third game set for Sharjah Cricket Stadium from October 30 to November 3.

Squad members arrived here last weekend.

SQUAD – Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Alzarri Joseph, Marlon Samuels and Jomel Warrican.

Test Schedule

October 13-17: 1st Test – Dubai International Cricket Stadium (day/night)

October 21 – 25: 2nd Test – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

October 30- Nov 3: 3rd Test – Sharjah Cricket Stadium


Around the Web