Defending champions hammer Tucville 6-0

Defending champion St. Angela’s, 2013 winner St. Pius and West Ruimveldt sealed places in the knockout round when the group matches of the 5th annual Court’s Pee-Wee Primary Schools football tournament concluded yesterday.

St. Angela’s sent a statement to the field, hammering Tucville 6-0 at the Thirst Park ground with Omarie Nelson and Seon Cato scoring two goals each.

Nelson scored in the second and 27th minute and Cato in the eighth and 26th minute.

Dexter Farrell and Antonio Mc Arthur scored the other two goals in the 13th and 29th minute.

Meanwhile, St. Pius crushed Mae’s 5-0 with Kaden Wellington and Dwayne Baptiste scoring two goals each.

Wellington scored in the ninth and 13th minute while Baptiste netted in the 15th and 22nd minute.

Deshale Humphrey scored the other goal in the fifth minute.

West Ruimveldt downed Enterprise 1-0 compliments of a Kevin Mentis strike in the 18th minute while 2012 champions Marian Academy and North Georgetown played to a 1-1 draw.

Nicholas Verwey gave Marian Academy the lead in the first minute while Shaquan Walters equalized in the 15th minute.

In other results, F.E. Pollard edged Comenius 1-0 via a Bryan Wharton 11th minute conversion while South Ruimveldt squeaked past St. Stephen’s 2-1. Antonio Leitch and Saleem Rameshwar scored in the 11th and 12th minute for the winners while Omali Xavier scored in the seventh minute for the losing team.

Stella Maris, the 2014 champions lost to St. Agnes 0-1 with Amos Bayley scoring in the sixth minute for the Church Street unit while St. Margaret’s defeated J.E. Burnham 2-0 compliments of a double from Mickelle Andrews in the seventh and 27th minute.

St. Gabriel’s edged St. Ambrose 1-0 through a Tyrese Hart 40th minute effort; Winfer Gardens gained a walkover from Smith Memorial; Success Elementary and School of the Nations played to a 0-0 result and Redeemer and Rama Krishna battled to an identical scoreline.


The teams that have qualified for the round of 16 stage as group winners and runners-up are St. Angela’s, Tucville, St. Pius, Winfer Gardens, West Ruimveldt, St. Margaret’s, North Georgetown, Marian Academy, Stella Maris, St. Agnes, South Ruimveldt and St. Stephen’s. The third place qualifiers are F.E. Pollard, Redeemer, Mae’s and St. Gabriel’s.

Following the conclusion of the round of 16 stage, the losing eight schools will compete for positions nine through 16 until the conclusion of the event.




















Around the Web