South Rupununi District Council established

An order has been issued establishing the South Rupununi District Council (SRDC) comprising representatives of 14 villages.

According to the March 25th 2017 edition of the Official Gazette, the order was made under the Amerindian Act of 2006 and came after the villages in question submitted requests approved by village general meetings for the setting up of the council.

The order said that the South Rupununi District Council would be comprised of the toshao and one councillor from the following villages: Aishalton, Awarewaunau, Achawib, Karaudarnaua, Katoonarib, Maruranau, Parabara, Parikwarinau, Potarinau, Rupunau, Sand Creek, Sawariwau, Shea and Shulinab.

The order was made by Minister of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs Sydney Allicock under Section 35 of the Amerindian Act.

The order was accompanied by requests from each of the villages asking for the SRDC and indicating the dates of the village meetings at which the approval for the SRDC was obtained and when it was minuted.

Around the Web