No new Ministry being created for Hastings-Williams

The Ministry of the Presidency (MoTP) yesterday clarified that no new Ministry is being created for the current Minister within the Ministry of Communities,  Dawn Hastings-Williams, who will assume responsibility for Public Affairs as a Minister within the Ministry of the Presidency on September 1.

In a statement yesterday, MoTP said that it wished to correct the misinformation being peddled in a section of the press, which incorrectly stated that Hastings-Williams’s appointment brings to 20 the number of Ministries.  There are, in fact, only 15 Ministries, the statement said.

“The Ministry of the Presidency is a single Ministry, which houses the Office of the President, the Office of the Prime Minister, the Ministers of State, Citizenship, Public Service and with Hastings-Williams’ addition, Public Affairs”, MoTP said.

It added that Hasting-Williams is currently still carrying out her functions as Minister within the Ministry of Communities and will maintain that role until August 31, 2017.

The statement noted that President David Granger has outlined several key areas, which will fall within her mandate, including administration of the National Endowment for Science and Technology Programme and hinterland and rural relations. The statement said that Hastings-Williams will receive a detailed Terms of Reference from the Head of State before taking up office on September 1, 2017.



Around the Web