Trinidad repeat as Caribbean Motor Racing champs

Team Trinidad and Tobago drove off with the winner’s spoils of the 2017 edition of the Caribbean Motor Racing Championships (CMRC) which concluded on Sunday at the South Dakota Circuit.

During the closing and award ceremony of the event which was held on Monday night at the Ramada Princess, it was announced that the Soca Daredevils had successfully defended their team title.

Despite  the  nondisclosure of an official scoresheet since some protests have yet to be dealt with, a source from the GMR&SC disclosed that the drivers and riders from the Twin Island Republic won by a significant margin despite tallying just 50 points in final of the four-leg championships.

Meanwhile, Guyana’s Andrew King who piloted his Mazda Rx7 in the AWD class, won ahead of Jamaica’s Kyle Greg and his Radical.


In the two-wheel drive class,Barbadian Mark Maloney was flawless while retaining his title while the Group three class was owned by Paul Vieira who finished ahead of Countryman Ronald Wortman.

The group two Caribbean title was also retained by Thompson who with 155.5 points, finished ahead of the Trinidad trio of Daryl Ali, Luke Bhola and Bridget Singh.

In the super stocks, USA’s Bryce Prince left the competition in  the rear view to take his maiden title.

In the local division, Azad Hassan won the Sport Tuner class while Narine Dasrat was crowned Street Tuner Champion and Motilall Deodass won the Starlet Cup.

Chet Singh once again had a banner year to take the local group two Champion Driver trophy while Vishok Persaud took the group three title and King and Kristian Jeffrey taking the group 4 2WD and AWD titles.

Kevin Persaud was also outstanding as he took the super sport local trophy.

Trinidad will host the first leg of the 2018 edition in March.

Around the Web