Why no more inductees to the Cricket Hall of Fame?

Dear Editor,

I no longer enjoy visiting the GCC where I am, I think, the member of longest standing (since 1955).  I find it infinitely sad that this illustrious club has fallen completely out of its former estimation as the oldest and greatest cricket club in the region and one of the most famous cricket clubs in the world.

Now that I am on the sidelines I hate sniping at and second-guessing those in authority who bear the brunt of current problems and are no doubt doing their best. However, I made a visit to my revered old club the other day and have a question which I think is worth asking.

There is a Cricket Hall of Fame in the pavilion at Bourda. The inductees at the first ceremony in 1995 were: CR Browne, MP Fernandes, Robert Christiani, Berkeley Gaskin, Bruce Pairaudeau and John Trim. And at the second ceremony in 1999 the induc-tees were: Clive Lloyd, Clyde Wal-cott, Rohan Kanhai, Joe Solomon, Kenny Wishart, Roy Fredericks, Basil Butcher and Lance Gibbs.

The obvious question is: why have there been no further inductees? Isn’t it about time? I can think of a few names.

Yours faithfully,

Ian McDonald


It is his character which defines Jagan

Dear Editor, In a talk at the National Library last week to celebrate my father’s 100th birth anniversary, I spoke of the Romans and compared their relentless stamina when faced with the worst calamities which befell their Republic.

A golden opportunity was squandered to respect international norms of public discourse

Dear Editor, Reference the news item yesterday ‘Experts for Cabinet caucus on oil future’, a question or two and a few brief remarks.

We need to teach English and other languages but this does not preclude respect for Creolese

Dear Editor, Because of the issues of self-value, culture, understanding of language and other issues which it reflects, the letter from Mr Sean Ori about teaching Creolese at UG (SN, March 20) deserves an in-depth response, but at this time it also requires a timely reply which might necessarily be brief but more pointed to the fallacious reasoning on which it was built.

The WPA has to sound the warning bell or be smothered by its silence

Dear Editor, We are now past the midway point of the APNU+AFC government in office.

Bissundyal’s works will forever be a part of the literary landscape

Dear Editor, The death of Dr Churaumanie Bissundyal is not only a deep loss to his family but also to the literary community.


Not Ready to Subscribe ?

You can still join over other 15,000 subscribers and receive FREE breaking news alerts as they happen and the morning brief featuring top stories of the day. 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built stabroeknews.com using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now