GTTA implements national team training programme

The executive committee of the Guyana Table Tennis Association (GTTA) has decided to implement a structured team training programme for the various national players that come under the jurisdiction of the GTTA.

According to a release from the GTTA, it is hoped that the programme yield significant benefits to the players named.

According to the GTTA release, the association’s objectives are to enhance and intensify the training of its top players in the various categories and to improve the technical and tactical levels of the players.

Players are expected to participate in a minimum of 60 per cent of the sessions and should any player have any difficulty in attending the sessions they are expected to formally engage the executive committee on the issue as it will be evaluated on a case by case basis and can have a bearing on team selection, the release stated.

Meanwhile the GTTA executive committee will meet with the senior players and parents of  the junior players selected/listed, on January 16 at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall,  Homestretch Avenue  at 5.30pm to discuss the  training programme and other upcoming programmes.

The players shortlisted for training in preparation for upcoming international events are:-

11 Years Boys              

Kaysan Ninvalle

Dhanesh Persaud

Colin Wong

Krystian Sahadeo`

Alexander De Abreu

11 Years Girls

Thuraia Thomas

Kassia Liverpool

Shorana Roberts

13 Years Boys                                    

Kaysan Ninvalle

Niron Bissu

Christopher Shepperd

Paul  Bess

Jonathon Van Lange

Isaiah Layne

Isaiah Rampersaud

Vishan Deo (Berbice)

13 Years Girls

Abigale Martin

Nevaeh Clarkston

Lashanda Bourne

Thuraia Thomas

15 Years Boys                                  

Kaysan Ninvalle

Tyriq Saunders

Jeremy Singh

Vishal Harrinauth (Berbice)

Brandon Jaikaran

Jamal Nicholas

Yeudistir Persaud

Navindra Persaud

Niron Bissu

Terrence Rausch

15 Years Girls

Aneka Philips

Selenas Jackman

Abigale Martin

Nevaeh Clarkston

Janay Prescott-Johnson

Sarah Samogan

Boys 18 years and under                              

Kyle Edghill

Elishaba Johnson

Miguel Wong

Jeremey Singh

Khalil Ninvalle

Vicente Henry

Nicholas Romain

Girls 18 years and under

Priscilla Greaves

Selenas Jackman

Neveah Clarkston

Abigale Martin

Aneika Philips

Dovanna Bess

Jamali Homer

Men’s   Players                                

Christopher Franklin

Nigel Bryan

Edinho Lewis

Orin Hickerson

Colin France

Joel Alleyne

Shemar Britton

Kyle Edghill

Elishaba Johnson

Alec Hopkinson

Maurice Cummings

Shavin Greene

Sheldon Atherley

Jamaal Duff

Matthew Khan

Stefan Corlette

Kevon Corbin

Women’s Players

Chelsea Edghill

Natalie Cummings

Trenace Lowe

Jodyann Blake

Priscilla Greaves

Delecia Cummings

Michelle John

Around the Web