Chase Academy, Morgan Learning Centre to clash Sunday in Milo final

Two-time defending champions Chase Academy will battle Morgan Learning Center in the final of the Milo U18 Secondary Schools football championships following semi-final wins over Sir Leon Lessons and Masters Academy respectively last night.

The Ministry of Education ground, which provided the setting for a mammoth viewership, saw the title holders defeating South Ruimveldt based unit Sir Leon Lessons 2-0.

The dominance of the defending champs was apparent from kickoff as they monopolised possession, while restricting their opponent to chances from outside of the area, in the process maintaining their perfect defensive record.

Job Caesar was once again the difference on the night following a scoreless first half as, he recorded a masterful double.

Nicholas McArthur (yellow) of Chase Academy battling to maintain possession of the ball against a Sir Leon Lessons player during their semi-final affair at the Ministry of Education ground in the Milo Secondary School Football Championships. (Orlando Charles photo)

The Santos FC forward opened the scoring in the 67th minute, racing onto a through pass down the right side, before cutting into the box and hammering a shot into the roof of the net.

The versatile attacker then sealed the contest in the 90th+1 minute, cutting?in from the left side into the penalty area, before lashing into the right hand corner.

On other hand, Morgan Learning Center edged Masters Academy 2-1. Daniel Floyd and Chris Macey netted for the winners in the 18th and 49th minute respectively. On target for the losers in the 80th minute was Mario Eastman.

The matchup was not without controversy as, Masters Academy was denied a goal in the 85th minute for an alleged handball infraction.

The resulting winners will now faceoff on Sunday at the same venue at 19:00hrs. The two losing semi-finalists will face-off in the third place playoff at 17:00hrs.

Winner of the tourney will receive $500,000 towards a school project and the championship trophy while the second, third and fourth placed sides will pocket $300,000,$200,000 and $100,000 respectively towards a school initiative and a trophy.

Around the Web