Leonora Technical Institute in come-from-behind win

—Digicel Schools football c/ships

Leonora Technical Institute overcame a 0-2 deficit to pummel Professional Learning Institute 9-2 when the seventh annual Digicel Schools Football championships continued yesterday at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora.

Falling behind to goals from Ackeme Douglas and Keanu Lawrence in the 12th and 18th minute respectively, Leonora Technical Institute roared back to seal the result compliments of nine unanswered goals.

Action between Leonora Technical Institute (red) and Professional Learning Centre at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora in the 7th Annual Digicel Schools Football Championships yesterday. (Orlando Charles photo)

Despite being guilty of spurning several opportunities, Dometri Osbourne bagged a brace in the 46th and 67th minute, Adrian Adelph recorded a double in the 60th and 73rd minute and Sebastian Van Slyman netted twice in the 37th and 74th minute.

Stephen Baynes, Reon Wright and Ej Mars added to the rout in the 38th, 77th and 79th minute respectively. The tournament will resume today at several venues.

Mahaicony Secondary engages Belladrum Secondary at the Belladrum ground in West Berbice, while Patentia battle Vreed-en-Hoop at the L’Aventure ground. Both matches are slated for 15:30hrs.

In New Amsterdam at the Burnham Park ground, Berbice High School tackles Berbice Educational Institute at 15:30hrs.

The championship which is scheduled to conclude on July 31st, will feature more than 120 schools from each of the 10 administrative regions, competing in an elimination format.

Chase Academy is the defending champion, with Christianburg/Wismar the most successful school with four consecutive titles (2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015) in six successive final appearances.

The other winner of the tourney was Government Technical Institute (GTI) in the inaugural edition (2011). Winner of the event will receive $100,000 towards a school project and a trophy.

The second, third and fourth place finishers will collect $700,000, $400,000 and $350,000 towards a school initiative and the respective accolade.

Around the Web