Mitchell stands out as Uitvlugt Warriors win Arthur Chung Memorial tournament

A standout performance from goalkeeper Kelvis Mitchell saw Uitvlugt Warriors winning the four-team Arthur Chung Memorial football tournament after they defeated Den Amstel 2-0 on penalty kicks on Sunday.

Locked 1-1 at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora, Fraser made four consecutive saves to clinch the title for his against their arch-rival.

Before Fraser’s brilliance, nippy forward Daniel Floyd had given Uitvlugt the lead in the 80 minute encounter, with a goal in the 15th minute.

However, Den Amstel knotted the score when Andre Hector netted in the 32nd minute.

Uitvlugt won $100,000 and the championship trophy with Den Amstel receiving $50,000 and the runners-up trophy.

In the third place playoff, Eagles downed Pouderoyen 3-2. Adrian Adelph, Chris Macey and Ezequiel Cox scored in the 38th, 58th and 60th minutes respectively for the victor while Amoniki Buntin and Lexroy Manfield netted in the 15th and 47th minute respectively for Pouderoyen.

Eagles earned $30,000 and Pouderoyen $20,000.

Meanwhile, in the semi-finals Uitvlugt defeated Eagles 3-1 and Den Amstel edged Pouderoyen 1-0.

For Uitvlugt,. Harvey recorded a double in the 28th and 30th minute, while Daniel Floyd netted in the 29th minute while Marvis Williams scored in the 39th minute for Eagles.

Den Amstel’s Gavin Graham’s 24th minute goal was enough to send his team through to the final.

Uitvlugt Warriors custodian Kelvis Fraser copped the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Best Goalkeeper Awards while team-mate Harvey and Floyd were joint winners of the most goals scored award with two goals from two matches.  Macey of Eagles was adjudged the tournament’s best young player.

The event which was a collaboration between West Demerara Football Association (WDFA) and the Ministry of Sport, featured the four leading teams from the region.

Around the Web