Ann’s Grove dumped from Digicel Schools c/ships

East Coast Demerara champion Ann’s Grove, was dumped out of the 7th Annual Digicel Schools Football Championship, losing 5-1 to unfancied Golden Grove yesterday at the Beterverwagting (BV) ground.

The contest which was officiated by the GFF Head of Referee Department Stanley Lancaster, was marred by fighting in the 12th minute as, Cordell Thomas of Golden Grove and Nyron Bacchus of Ann’s Grove were issued red cards.

The aforesaid incident didn’t hinder the challenger, as Kofi Huntley opened the scoring in the 20th minute, stabbing home from inside the six yard box, after collecting a right side cross.

Lenard Cyrus made it 2-0 in the 27th minute, slotting home from the left side of the box, into the right hand corner of the net.

Action between St. George’s and GTI in the 7th Annual Digicel Schools Football Championship at the Ministry of Education ground yesterday. (Orlando Charles photo).

The score line ballooned once more in the 41st minute, as Emmanuel Lewis netted, racing into the left of the 18 yard area, before placing his right foot shot into the right corner.

Samuel Hunte got into the scoring act in the 54th minute, curling a left foot free-kick from the right side of the box, into the top left corner.

Ann’s Grove eventually pulled one back in the 67th compliments of a Rasleigh Morrison penalty conversion. However Golden Grove sealed the result two minutes later, as Huntley netted his second.

The fixture then ended as it begun, Morrison receiving a red card for abusive language in the 70th minute.

Meanwhile, Annandale Secondary dismantled La Bonne Intention by a 9-0 margin led by a Trevor Fiffee hat-trick in the 16th, 21st and 26th minute.

Supporting were Joshua Liverpool, Troni Semple, Jason Gordon, Ronaldo Frederick, Colin Henriques and DeNeal Clarke, who scored in the third, 45th, 65th, 67th, 75th and 80th minute respectively.

Over at Ministry of Education ground, Government Technical Institute (GTI) crushed St. Georges High 6-1. Alisaiah Alleyne recorded a double in the 32nd and 35th minute, while Omalley Scotland tallied a brace in the 42nd and 43rd minute.

Adding to the score line in the 51st and 55th minute were Bradley Powley and Fabayo Manfield respectively. For the loser, Sheldon Reid netted in the 30th minute.

The tournament resumes today at various venues. The championship which is scheduled to conclude on July 31st, will feature more than 120 schools from each of the 10 administrative regions, competing in an elimination format.

Chase Academy is the defending champion, with Christianburg/Wismar the most successful school with four consecutive titles (2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015) in six successive final appearances.

The other winner of the tourney was Government Technical Institute (GTI) in the inaugural edition (2011). Victor of the event will receive $1,000,000 towards a school project and a trophy.

The second, third and fourth place finishers will collect $700,000, $400,000 and $350,000 towards a school initiative and the respective accolade.

Around the Web