South Assembly crowned champions

Linden Inter-Church Annual Basketball Championship

– defeat Pentecostal Fire 83-77

South Assembly were crowned the new Linden Inter-Church Basketball Champions, defeating Pentecostal Fire 83-77 in the finale on Monday, at the Mackenzie Sports Club hard-court, Linden.

It was the maiden triumph for South Assembly, in the 11th edition of the tournament, who were led by the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Best Defensive Player, Vibert Benjamin.

The dynamic Benjamin recorded a monstrous double-double of 30 points and 13 rebounds, accompanied by three steals and two blocks.

He was ably supported by the Most Block Shots awardee Emmanuel Archibald, and Donnel Benjamin who scored 23 and 22 points, respectively.

For the Pentecostal Fire, Yannick Tappin led the way with a double-double of 26 points and 10 rebounds, to go with four steals and two assists, while Israel Warden and Akeem Powers added 18 and 10 points, apiece.

In the third place playoff, dethroned champion Mount Carmel overcame Calvary Temple 52-48. Siblings Adrian and Joel Webster scored 22 and 10 points, respectively, in the hard-fought win.

On the other side, Geoffrey La Rose, Immanuel La Rose and Dwight McKinnon scored 15, 11 and eight points, each.

In the other individual awards, Joel Webster of Calvary Temple copped the Highest Scorer accolade with an accumulated 108 points, while the Most Assists trophy was shared by the Pentecostal duo of Keifer Tappin and Theodore Tappin.

Keifer Tappin also walked away with the Most Steals title, while Lavar McPhoy copped the Most Improved Player title.

Around the Web