National U15 football team departs today for T/dad

The Guyana national U15 boys football team will depart local shores today for Trinidad and Tobago as they intensify preparations for the CONCACAF U15 championships in Florida, United States of America from August 13th-19th.

The team will be involved in a number of practice matches during their stay in the twin island republic.

“During the five-day stay in Trinidad and Tobago, the team will be engaged in three practice matches against youth teams on the island as well as have Golden Jaguars’ Assistant Coach Charles Pollard, who is based in Trinidad, work with the players on defensive organization,” a release from the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) stated.

Technical Director of the GFF, Ian Greenwood, said that the training camp, which ended yesterday, was very successful.

“The squad’s pre-tournament camp in Guyana is coming to an end after an extremely successful and productive period. The players throughout the various encampments have shown professional attitude both on and off the field at all times,” said Greenwood.

“As part of the activities during the encampment period, the team benefited from sessions facilitated by the Ministry of Social Cohesion on sexual offences and gender-based violence. The sessions were conducted by Mr. Adel Lilly, Senior Gender Specialist, attached to the Sexual Offences and Domestic Violence Policy Unit. The sessions addressed how to identify and prevent various forms of violence” the release from the GFF stated.

The 18-member boys’ roster, under head coach, Bryan Joseph, reads: Goalkeepers Oswin Frederick (Buxton United) and Shawn Adonis (Golden Grove) Defenders Jermaine Padmore (GFC), Joshua Braithwaite (Fruta Conquerors), Kevin Reddy (Potaro Strikers), Marcus Wilson (Eastveldt), Okifi Patoir (Rosignol United) and Wayne DaSilva (Saints Sports Club), Midfielders Isiah James (Rosignol United), Shannon Samnauth (Soesdyke Falcons), Jermaine Garrett (Fruta Conquerors), Omari Glasgow (BV United) and Tyrel Khan (Soesdyke Falcons), Forwards Ken Salvador (Saints Sports Club), Orville Daniels (Paiwomak Warriors), Ravon Bayley (Ordis FC), Ronaldo Rodrigues (Atkinson Brothers FC) and Troni Semple (Buxton United).

Devnon Winter will serve as the Assistant Coach and Eon De Vieira as the Goalkeeping Coach.

Around the Web