Regional Under 19 standouts handed GCB Academy contracts 

- Fudadin refuses contract, Lewis the lone new face in Jaguars setup 

The Guyana Cricket Board and its Jaguar Franchise yesterday announced the new contract awardees for the 2017/18 cricket season with Jamaican Ramaal Lewis the lone new face on the list while Assad Fudadin according to the GCB, refused to be contracted.

It was also reported that Shivnarine Chanderpaul, if available, would be offered a “Pay for Play” contract with the Guyana Jaguars.

Fifteen players received contracts for the upcoming Professional Cricket League while 13 players copped Academy contracts commencing from the 1st September 2017.

The Panthers rugby outfit emerged winner of the Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU) 7s tournament held yesterday at the National Park.
The team, made up of former UG Wolves players, was unbeaten during their three-match outing which culminated with a pulsating 26-24 victory against the Pepsi Hornets in the final.
Fabian Joseph, Laurie Adonis, captain Rondell ‘Bull’ McArthur and Osei McKenzie were the try scorers for the winning side while Adonis (one) and Godfrey Broomes (two) also chipped in with conversions.
A brace by Peabo Hamilton, a try and two conversions by national captain, Ryan Gonsalves and a try by national sprinter, Jason Tyrell were not enough to get the Hornets over the hump against the hungry, fleet-footed Panthers.
En route to the final, the Hornets defeated the Police Falcons 38-nil, the Panthers got the better of the Caribs 31-nil and the Panthers beat the Hornets 28-19.
It was a good day at the office for McArthur’s men.
Notes: There was a non-appearance of the GDF outfit due to match fitness stemming from the lack of training time.
The GRFU season continues on Sunday with the Trophy Stall 7s at the same venue. The Panthers will be looking to continue their winning ways when the tournament kicks off at 11:00hrs.

The centrally contracted players are: Leon Johnson, Raymon Reifer, Veerasammy Permaul, Keon Joseph, Rajendra Chandrika, Ramaal Lewis, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Anthony Bramble, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Gudakesh Motie, Steven Jacobs, Tevin Imlach, Christopher Barnwell, and Chandrapaul Hemraj.

The Academy Players are: Anthony Adams, Kemol Savory, Kevon Boodie, Akshaya Persaud, Joshua Persaud, Sherfane Rutherford, Clinton Pestano, Raun Johnson, Bhaskar Yadram, Robin Bacchus, Raymond Perez, Ronaldo Ali-Mohamed and Rickie Looknauth

These players will be joined by Cricket West Indies contracted players Devendra Bishoo, Vishaul Singh and Shimron Hetemyer to commence preparation for the CWI PCL 2017/18 tournament.

Meanwhile, all Under 19 youth players returning from the CWI tournament in St Kitts are required to report to chairman of the senior selection panel for placement for the Jaguars Three-day League and continued training with the CGI, if eligible to play in CWI U19 2018.


Around the Web