Upsets continue in Guinness Cage football c/ships as Old Skool Ballers shock Sparta Boss 3-0

Old Skool Ballers created the biggest upset of the inaugural Guinness Cage Football Championship after defeating giant Sparta Boss 3-0 Thursday at the National Gymnasium, Mandela Avenue.

It was a clinical performance from the youthful outfit, who, led by a  Joel Mc Garrell hat trick,  dispatched the challenge of Sparta Boss.

McGarrell found the back of the net in the sixth, 19th and 20th minute.

Orandel Williams (centre) of Leopold Street trying to recover possession of the ball while being pursued by MBK All-Stars Peter George (right) and Oswald Cornett during the Guinness Cage Football Championship matchup at the National Gymnasium on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the trend of upsets continued as Gold is Money, Leopold Street and Tiger Bay all suffered hard-fought defeats to lesser opponents. Mocha edged Gold is Money 1-0 through a Sceyon Hope second minute conversion while Meadowbrook (MBK) All-Stars downed Leopold Street 4-3. An own goal in the second minute opened the scoring while Christopher Hyderkhan, Nevon James and Oswald Cornett scored in the second, fifth, sixth and 20th minute respectively.

For Leopold Street, Okeene Fraser, Samuel Hunte, and Orandel Williams scored in the third, eighth and 17th minute respectively. On the other hand, Hustlers defeated Tiger Bay 3-1.

Great Wall! Desmond Cottom of Leopold Street (no.3/yellow) struggles to penetrate the defensive wall of MBK All-Stars during their matchup in the Guinness Cage Football Championship at the National Gymnasium on Thursday.

Sunil Logan bagged a double in the 12th and 15th minute, while Josiah Charles scored in the 18th minute. For Tiger Bay,  James Meredith netted in the fourth minute. Meanwhile, Albouystown-A sent a stern warning to the field, crushing Showstoppers 3-0.

Devon Dooker, Marlon Nedd and Tevin Curry scored in the fifth, 14th and 18th minute apiece. Also avoiding upset losses were Back Circle and Future Stars. Back Circle edged Champion Boys 2-1. Runel Gordon and Nick William netted in the fifth and 13th minute.

On target in the loss was Lloyd Matthews in the 11th minute. Future Stars squeaked past Pike Street Sophia 1-0, with Keron Solomon finding the back of the net in the 10th minute.

In other results, North Ruimveldt downed Albouystown-B 1-0 compliments of a Colin Daniels 13th minute conversion. The event resumes on Tuesday at the same venue with another eight group matches.

At 19:00hrs Hustlers battles Mocha, while from 19:30hrs, Pike Street Sophia engages Albouystown-A and North Ruimveldt opposes Ol Skool Ballers at 20:00hrs.

The fourth fixture will pit Gold is Money against Tiger Bay at 20:30hrs, while MBK All-Stars face off with Agricola Champion Boys at 21:00hrs and Future Stars tackle Showstoppers at 21:30hrs.

In the final two fixtures, Back Circle tackles Leopold Street at 22:00hrs and Sparta Boss opposes Albouystown-B from 22:30hrs. Following the end of the round-robin stage, the top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the quarterfinal.

The complete list of the event sponsors are Star Party Rentals, Faye Joseph, Claude Geddes Recreational Sports Club, National Sports Commission, Windjammer International Hotel & Cuisine, Woodpecker Trophies & Sport, Y.K Investments & Pawn Shop, Henry Chase, Jai Signs, Trophy Stall of Bourda Market and John Fernandes Ltd.

Complete Results





North Ruimveldt-1 vs Albouystown-B-0

Colin Daniels-13th



MBK All-Stars-4 vs Leopold Street-3

MBK Scorers

Own Goal-2nd

Christopher Hyderkhan-5th

Nevon Haynes-6th

Oswald Cornette-20th

Leopold Scorers

Okeene Fraser-3rd

Samuel Hunte-8th

Orandel Williams-17th



Tiger Bay-1 vs Hustlers-3

Hustlers Scorers

Sunil Logan-12th and 15th

Josiah Charles-18th

Tiger Bay Scorer

James Meredith-4th



Albouystown-A-3 vs Showstoppers-0

Devon Dooker-5th

Marlon Nedd-14th

Tevin Curry-18th



Mocha-1 vs Gold is Money-0

Sceyon Hope-2nd



Future Stars-1 vs Pike Street Sophia-0

Keron Solomon-10th



Back Circle-2 vs Champion Boys-1

Back  Circle Scorers

Runel Gordon-5th

Nick William-13th

Champion Boys Scorer

Lloyd Matthews-11



Sparta Boss-0 vs Ol Skool Ballers-3

Joel McGarrell-6th, 19th and 20th


Around the Web