Courts Pee Wee football tourney to commence at month-end

Representatives from the participating schools in the Courts Pee Wee U11 Primary School football tournament posing with members of the launch party inclusive of Petra Organization Director Troy Mendonca (third from left), Marketing Director of Courts Guyana Incorporated Pernell, Cummings (centre) and Banks DIH Malta Supreme brand manager Clayton McKenzie (right).

The Sixth annual Courts Pee Wee U11 Primary Schools football tournament was officially launched yesterday at the National Library on Main and Church Streets.

The event, which features 32 teams competing in a round-robin format, will commence September 30th at the Thirst Park ground. Upon the conclusion of the group stage, the top two finishers in each section will advance to the elimination round.

Troy Mendonca, Co-Director of event coordinators, the Petra Organization, said, “We are trying to spread our wings with our sponsors to try to include as much places as possible and try to do the tournament countrywide.”

Marketing Director of Courts Guyana Incorporated, Pernell Cummings, whose company donated $4.1 million dollars to the event, said: “This tournament over the years has produced many footballers and recently we saw ‘Messi’ [Martin King] who, about two years ago was exciting on the field, going to Barcelona for a camp there.”

GFF president Wayne Forde said: “The GFF cannot singe-handedly develop football. We call on our stakeholders and members to do this. The expansion of the tournament speaks to Petra and others pushing        boundaries.”

Also, Banks DIH Malta Supreme brand manager, Clayton McKenzie, declared that the company was once again pleased to be on board as it is important to promote sports development at the grassroots level.

Presently, the 24 confirmed participants are two-time defending champs [2-15 and 2016] St. Angela’s, 2012 winners Marian Academy, New Comenius, West Ruimveldt, St. Margaret’s, Tucville, South Ruimveldt, North Georgetown, Ketley, St. Gabriel’s, F.E. Pollard, Enterprise, 2013 champions St. Pius, Sophia, Winfer Gardens, Smith’s Memorial, East La Penitence, St. Agnes, St Ambrose, St Stephens, 2014 titlist Stella Maris, J.E. Burnham, School of the Nations and Rama Krishna.

The remaining eight teams will be confirmed before start of the competition.

Around the Web