Cyclists set to compete in back-to-back events this weekend

The cream of the nation’s cyclists will renew their rivalry this weekend with back-to-back events.

First up today, the 13th annual Laparkan 11-race programme will pedal off at 09:00hrs and is set to transform the National Park into a cycling speedway as the riders will once again unchain their competitive juices.

Today’s feature 35-lap Schoolboys and Invitational race will be contested by the top junior and senior wheelsmen.

Standout bikers like Paul DeNobrega, Raphael Leung, Jamaul John, Raul Leal, Hamzah Eastman, Stephano husbands and others will be going wheel-to-wheel for the top honours.

Junior Niles

Other categories scheduled to be contested are the 12 to 14 years boys and girls (3 laps), veterans over-50 years (5 laps), veterans over-60 years (5 laps), upright cyclists (5 laps), BMX boys open (3 laps), BMX boys 12 to 14 years (3 laps), BMX boys 9 to 12 years (3 laps) and BMX boys 6 to 9 years (3 laps).

Cycling coordinator, Hassan Mohamed noted that Laparkan has been very generous in sponsoring events under his purview over the years, but added that more sponsorship will mean additional avenues for the riders to showcase their talents.

Employees of the company are expected to be on hand to assist in the presentation of prizes to the top performers.

Meanwhile tomorrow, the cyclists will take their talents to the open roads to compete in the 15th annual Victor Macedo memorial road race.

Organized by the Flying Stars Cycle Club, the grueling 80-mile trek from Georgetown to Linden is scheduled to pedal off at 7:30am.

The race commences with a rolling start from 224 Peter Rose Street, Queenstown to Homestretch Avenue where it will official begin.

Senior and junior cyclists will then proceed to Long Creek on the Linden Highway while the veterans, juveniles and Mountain Bikers will journey to the hill after the Splashmin’s Fun Park. All riders would then return to finish on Homestretch Avenue.

Prizes: The first eight overall finishers, four juniors and the first three riders in the other categories will be handsomely rewarded.  There will also be 10 sprint prizes on offer.

Team Coco’s Stephano Husbands won last year’s edition of the road race in three hours, 11 minutes and seven seconds while Junior Niles (Veteran) and Ozia McAuley (Mountain Bike) reigned supreme in their respective classes.

This year, however, there will be a new champion in the junior division as Leung has since graduated from those ranks.

For further information, contact William Howard on telephone number 649-1162. (Emmerson Campbell)

Around the Web