Winners Connection edges Den Amstel to reach Hamilton Green Cup semis

Winners Connection, Milerock and the Guyana Police Force (GPF) sealed their respective berths to the semi-final round when the annual Hamilton Green Football Cup continued on Sunday at the Victoria Community ground.

Winners Connection earned their place in the semi-final section, following a hard-fought 2-1 victory over Den Amstel. Qualon Andries opened the scoring in the seventh minute for the Lindeners.

Cutting in from the left flank, Andries unleashed a powerful strike which nestled into the far corner of the goal. The quality of the finish drew praises from the large crowd that congregated at the venue.

However, Den Amstel netted the equaliser in the 30th minute as the versatile Gideon Payne converted from the penalty mark, following an infraction inside the 18-yard area.

Nonetheless, Winners Connection re-took the lead five minutes onward, as veteran attacker Keon Sears recorded what proved to be the go-ahead winner, with a sublime individual effort.

Awarded a free kick just outside the left of the penalty box, Sears unleashed a curling effort into the top right corner, giving the goalkeeper no chance.

Meanwhile, fellow Linden unit Milerock edged Uitvlugt Warriors 5-4 on penalty kicks after regulation and extra time ended 1-1.

Prior to the penalty shoot-out, Milerock took the lead in the ninth minute, as Denzil Fordyce scored, smashing his effort into the back of the net, following a goal mouth scramble.

Uitvlugt levelled proceedings in the 88th minute, with Lerone Jacobs scoring in similar fashion, stabbing his attempt into the goal during a scrimmage inside the box, which emanated from a corner-kick.

Also, GPF gained a walkover from Silver Shattas. The semi-final stage will commence on November 5th, with Winners Connection battling Soesdyke Falcons, and Milerock opposing GPF at a venue to be announced.

The eventual victor of the tournament will receive $500,000 and the Minister of Citizenship Trophy while the runners-up will pocket $250,000 and the Busta Trophy.

The third place finisher will collect $150,000 and the John Fernandes accolade while the fourth place outfit will walk away with $100,000 and the Cummings Electrical Trophy.


Complete Results



GPF vs Silver Shattas

GPF won via walkover



Uitvlugt-1 vs Milerock-1

Milerock won 5-4 on penalty kicks


Milerock Scorer

Denzil Fordyce-9th

Uitvlugt Scorer

Lerone Jacobs-88th



Den Amstel-1 vs Winners Connection-



Winners Scorers

Qualon Andries-7th

Keon Sears-35th


Den Amstel Scorer

Gideon Payne-30th

Semifinal Matchups-November 5th



Soesdyke Falcons vs Winners




GPF vs Milerock

Around the Web