Garnett scores double as Grove Hi Tech whip Pele

The Guyana Police Force (GPF) and Grove Hi-Tech reached the semi-finals of the inaugural Turbo knockout football tournament after defeating Kuru-Kururu and Pele respectively Tuesday.

The lawmen defeated a spirited Kuru-Kururu unit 1-0 with Rawle Haynes netting in the 40th minute.

The diminutive forward latched on to a left side cross from Junior Gordon at the top of the 18-yard area before thumping his effort into the right side.  

Kuru-Kururu had an opportunity to level the contest in the 67th minute from the penalty mark, due to an infraction inside the area. However, the Soesdyke Highway based unit failed from the mark, much to the relief of the officers.

Meanwhile, Grove Hi-Tech dismissed Pele 3-1. Domini Garnett handed Grove the lead in the seventh minute, racing onto a through pass inside the area before bundling the ball the ball past the advancing goalkeeper into the back of the net.

The East Bank Demerara unit doubled their lead in the 27th minute when Denzil Crawford struck his right foot effort into the left side of the net after receiving a cross from the right side.

Pele pulled one back in the 40th minute when Akosi Jarvis stabbed the ball home from inside the penalty box into the right corner, following a left side cross.

However, Garnett extinguished any hopes Pele had of staging a comeback, recording his second goal in the 59th minute with a curling free-kick, which wrong-footed the goalkeeper and settled into the back of net.

The event will resume today at the same venue with the final two quarterfinal fixtures.

At 18:30hrs, Silver Shattas of Linden will lock horns with Campbellville giant Camptown while the feature contest will pit Pouderoyen against Mahaica Determinators from 21:00hrs.

Winner of the event will receive $500,000 and the championship trophy while the runners-up will pocket $250,000 and the corresponding accolade.

The third and fourth place finishers will receive $125,000 and $75,000 respectively and trophies.

The teams that have been eliminated from the championship are Eagles, Northern Rangers, GFC, Santos, Uitvlugt and Riddim Squad. The event is coordinated by the Petra Organization.

Complete Results


GPF-1 vs Kuru-Kururu

Rawle Haynes-40th


Grove Hi-Tech-3 vs Pele-1

Grove Scorers

Domini Garnett-7th and 59th

Denzel Crawford-27th

Pele Scorer

Akosi Jarvis-41st

Around the Web