Guyana defends RAN 7s title in Mexico this weekend

Guyana will headline Pool A of the Rugby America’s North (RAN) 7s Champion-ships which kicks off tomorrow in Mexico.

The two-day competition will see the reigning Caribbean champions facing the Cayman Islands (10:44am) and Barbados (12:56pm) in Group A.

Pool B consists of Jamaica, Bermuda and the Dominican Republic. A tough Pool C will see Trinidad and Tobago, the host, British Virgin Islands and ruggers from Curacao locking horns.

Note: During event this weekend, 10 men’s teams and seven women’s teams will aim to qualify for the World Cup, the Commonwealth Games and the Central American and Caribbean Games in 2018.

Guyana, is an eight-time winner. The men’s competition on the first day will be a pool round robin, with seeding based on the 2016 standings.

On day two the top two teams in each pool go through to play off in two further pools and the remaining four teams will play off in a separate round robin tournament as follows:

Cup Round Robin Phase (2 matches each per team)

Pool 1 Pool 2:1st Pool A 1st Pool B, 2nd Pool C 1st Pool C,2nd Pool B 2nd Pool A

Final: Winner Pool 1 v Winner Pool 2

3rd /4th Match: Runner up Pool 1 v Runner up Pool 2,5th /6th Match: 3rd Pool 1 v 3rd Pool 2.

Plate Round Robin Tournament:

3rd Pool A, 3rd Pool B, 3rd Pool C and 4th Pool C

The above format allows for six teams after day one to be in contention to win the tournament and qualify for CASCO Games 2018.

On the women’s side, a round robin tournament over two days will take place, where every team will play each other (three matches each day per team) and final positions will be based on final standings in the group. Women’s teams include Jamaica, Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Bermuda, Dominican Republic and French Guyana.

All matches will be streamed live and fans can follow the action on social media using the hashtag #RAN7s.

The squad of selected players for this year’s RAN Championships is as follows: Dwayne Schroeder, (Capt.) Avery Corbin, Patrick King, Rondel McArthur, Jamal Angus Lancelot, Adonis, Rickford Cummings, Peabo Hamilton, Richard Staglon, Claudius Butts Ronald Mayers and Dominic Lespierre.

Around the Web