Grove Hi-Tech in Super 16 football final

-after outfoxing highly-rated Fruta

Grove Hi-Tech and the Guyana Defence Force (GDF), will face-off tomorrow in the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) ‘Super 16 Year-end Classic’ finale, following semi-final wins on Friday over Fruta Conquerors and Milerock respectively.

The East Bank Demerara outfit upset the highly touted and star-studded Fruta Conquerors unit 4-3 in front of a small crowd at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora.

An inept first half performance from the Tucville unit proved to be the difference in the match, as Grove Hi-Tech romped to a commanding 3-1 lead.

Kelsey Benjamin broke the deadlock with a 12th strike. He then made his presence felt once score, securing his double compliments of a 21st minute conversion.

Curtez Kellman made it 3-0, as he etched his name on the scorer’s sheet six minutes later. The Tucville unit eventually pulled one back in the 30th minute through Jermin Junior.

Following the resumption, Denzil Crawford made it 4-1 via a 67th minute attempt. However, Solomon Austin reduced Grove’s lead in the 77th minute with a penalty kick conversion.

Eon Alleyne set up a tense finish in the final moments of the match-up, netting in the 88th minute to reduce the deficit        to 4-3.

Nonetheless, Grove Hi-Tech survived an assault in the remaining minutes to seal the victory.

Meanwhile, the GDF secured their appearance in the final, after humbling Linden unit Milerock 4-1.

Jeffrey Perreira opened the scoring in the 24th minute, before Delroy Fraser doubled their lead in the 60th minute.

Milerock kept their hopes alive of mounting a comeback, as Randy Jerome scored two minutes onward.

However, Sherwin Caesar restored their two-goal advantage via a 85th minute conversion. The game was then put to bed in the 88th minute, as Delroy Fraser scored.

The respective losers will lock horns in the earlier third place playoff.

Winner of the event will pocket $2,000,000 and a trophy, while the runner-up will collect $1,000,000 and the respective accolade.

On the other hand, the third and fourth place finishers will walk away with $500,000 and $250,000 correspondingly.

Complete Results


GDF-4 vs Milerock-1

GDF Scorers

Jeffrey Perreira-24th

Delwyn Fraser-60th

Sherwin Caesar-85th

Delroy Fraser-88th

Milerock Scorer

Randy Jerome-62nd


Fruta Conquerors-3 vs Grove Hi-Tech-4

Grove Scorers

Kelsey Benjamin-12th and 21st

Curtez Kellman-27th

Denzil Crawford-67th

Fruta Scorers

Jermin Junior-30th

Solomon Austin-77th

Eon Alleyne-88th

Around the Web