Williams elected mining syndicate president

Miner Cheryl Williams was elected as President of the National Mining Syndicate (NMS) on Thursday.

Williams, of Bartica, replaces Renwick Solomon, who served as president for a term of one year.

A statement issued by the NMS said Williams brings to the post a wealth of experience, having being involved in the mining sector for almost three decades.

“I feel privileged to be elected not only as President of the National Mining Syndicate but also as the first female President,” an elated Williams was quoted as saying, before acknowledging that much work has to be done to take the NMS and by extension miners forward.

“Much has to be done and I am up for the challenge,” she added, while thanking the past President and the Committee members for the work in 2017. “This new Executive promises to continue working towards the ‘good life.’”

Solomon congratulated Williams and committed to supporting her as the new Executive leads the NMS, which was established last year.

The statement noted that the new executive also comprises Troy Duncan, who was voted in as Vice-President, as well as Carol Nurse, Dana Jones, Michael Bacchus, and Carol Fredericks, who were elected to serve as Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, and Assistant Treasurer, respectively. Additionally, seven persons were elected to serve on the new Executive Committee.

The second NMS elections took place at the Girls Guide Pavilion, located on Brickdam, Georgetown.


Around the Web