Dr John Smith elected Chairman of ERC

The Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) on Friday announced that Dr John Smith has been elected as its Chairman.

A statement from the ERC said that following the appointment of the newly elected Commissioners, it has commenced work on delivering on its constitutional mandate.

The Commissioners, who were sworn in by  President David Granger on February 22, 2018, met on April 24, 2018, at Parliament Buildings at the invitation of the Speaker of the National Assembly,  Dr. Barton Scotland, for the purpose of electing a Chairperson and Deputy.

Following the process, Dr Smith was declared duly elected as Chairman and Major-General (Ret’d) Norman McLean,  the Deputy Chairman.

The first official meeting of the Commission was held on April 26, 2018, during which updates were provided and statutory date for meetings decided. The Commission is in the process of drafting its work programme for the rest of the year and to fill critical vacancies on which the execution of its mandate depends.

Members of the public who are desirous of engaging the Commission can make contact at its 66 Peter Rose and Anira streets, Queenstown, Georgetown office and/or through telephone numbers 231-6281, 231-6265.

Around the Web