New CCJ President sworn in

Justice Adrian Saunders (left), newly sworn-in President of the CCJ, takes the oath of office administered by Sir Patrick Allen, Governor-General of Jamaica.

Justice Adrian Saunders was installed yesterday as the third President of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) in Montego Bay, Jamaica by Sir Patrick Allen, Governor General of Jamaica.

The ceremony was held at the Opening of the 39th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Carib-bean Community (CARICOM) and was attended by Prime Ministers, Presidents and Premiers from throughout the region. 

In his remarks, a release from the CCJ said that the 3rd CCJ President, a national of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, noted “as I take up the responsibilities of President of the CCJ, I consider myself to be exceptionally fortunate. I have been preceded in that office by two outstanding Caribbean jurists and I was privileged to have enjoyed a close collegial relationship with both of them.  Each in his own way, Mr. Justice de la Bastide and Sir Dennis Byron, have contributed to the solid platform upon which the Court now rests.” 

Justice Saunders has served as a Judge of the CCJ since the Court’s inauguration in 2005 and has acted as President numerous times in the past. Prior to his time at the CCJ, he served a barrister and solicitor for 19 years before being appointed as a Judge of the Eastern Carib-bean Supreme (ECSC). He served as Judge at the ECSC for seven years and was then confirmed as a Justice of Appeal in 2003. A year later, he was appointed to act as Chief Justice, the release said.  

Justice Saunders will serve as President for no longer than the statutory period of seven years. He replaces his former colleague from the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court and the former President of the Court, Sir Dennis who was also in attendance at the swearing-in event.

Around the Web