GDF captures Super 16 football crown

Director of Sports Christopher Jones, handing over the championship trophy to the GDF captain in the presence of teammates and supporters, following their 2-0 win over Grove Hi-Tech in the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) ‘Super 16 Year-end Classic’ champion, at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora.

Guyana Defence Force (GDF) was crowned the inaugural Guyana Football Federation (GFF) ‘Super 16 Year-end Classic’ champion, dismissing Grove Hi-Tech 2-0 on Monday, at the National Track and Field Centre, Leonora.

Despite dominating possession in the contest, the army unit was held at bay by the dogged East Bank Demerara unit, as the first half ended scoreless.

Their attacking pressure would eventually be rewarded in the 58th minute, as they were awarded a penalty kick, following a clumsy challenge inside the box.

Marksmen-GDF Scorers from left to right-Delroy Fraser and Eusi Phillips

Tasked with the responsibility from the distance, experienced midfielder Eusi Phillips, made no mistake, firing his right foot attempt past the opposing goalkeeper.

Further misery was then heaped on Grove Hi-Tech, as Delroy Dodson was issued with a red card in the 67th minute. GDF eventually capitalized on their numerical advantage, as Delroy Fraser scored in the 80th minute.

Racing onto a through pass, Fraser placed his effort past the advancing goalkeeper from the left of the box, into the lower right corner.

GDF copped the top prize of $2,000,000 and a trophy, while the runner-up pocketed $1,000,000 and the respective accolade.

Meanwhile, Fruta Conquerors humbled Milerock 3-0. Jermin Junior recorded a brace in the 23rd and 83rd minute, while Ryan Hackett opened the scoring in the third minute.

For the loser, Kester Randolph scored in the 85th minute. With the result, Fruta Conquerors walked away with $500,000 and a trophy. On the other hand, Milerock received $250,000 and the respective trophy.



GDF-2 vs Grove Hi-Tech-0

Eusi Phillips-58th

Delroy Fraser-80th


Fruta Conquerors-3 vs Milerock-1

Fruta Scorers

Jermin Junior-23rd and 83rd

Ryan Hackett-3rd

Milerock Scorer

Kester Randolph-85th

Around the Web