Reifer, Joseph included for Jaguars eight round fixture 

-Rutherford surprisingly left out 

Australia peg back England after rain delay

National Cricket selectors yesterday announced the Guyana Jaguars squad for their eighth-round fixture against the Jamaican Scorpions in the 2017/18 edition of the Cricket West Indies/Digicel Regional 4-Day PCL tournament, beginning today at the Sabina Park.

The squad sees the inclusion of recent West Indies Test selec-tee, Raymond Reifer and West Indies A seamer Keon Joseph who has recovered from injury.

The selectors, however,  made a surprising call by altogether axing 19 – year old Sherfane Rutherford from the squad after impressive performances from the youngster this season. 

Rutherford, a top-order batsman who bowls slippery medium pace, compiled 239 runs batting at number eight while also snaring 19 wickets from seven matches, aiding the top of the table Jaguars’ dominating showing this season.

Left arm spinner Anthony Adams was also dropped without being given a game while Akshaya Persaud, the only uncapped player in the side, retained his place ahead of Rutherford.

Meanwhile, Devendra Bishoo who returned from the recently concluded bilateral Test series against New Zealand was not considered for selection as he is still recovering from an injury.

Jaguars are firmly placed atop the points standings with 118 points and are set to cruise to their four-consecutive title. Second place Barbados Pride are 42.8 points adrift on 75.2 while Trinidad & Tobago’s Red Force sits on 71.6, closely followed by the Jamaican Scorpions on 71.4 points. Leewards Hurricanes (61.0) and Windwards Volcanoes (52.2) round out the table.

The squad is as follow: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Vishaul Singh –(Vice Captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Keemo Paul, Anthony Bramble, Raymon Reifer, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Akshaya Persaud, Keon Joseph.

Around the Web