Trophy Stall doubles winners receive prizes

—GTA to bring forward annual tournament this year

In the picture at above the awardees along with (sitting from left to right) Assistant Director of Sport, Brian Smith, GLTA President, Jamal Goodluck and GOA President, Kal Juman Yassin. (Photo courtesy of the GTA)

Winners of the seventh annual Trophy Stall doubles championships received their prizes last Friday at the grand Guyana Tennis Association 2017 annual Awards Ceremony.

“It was a fitting environment to display the most attractive trophies for the tournament to date with players rewarded from four categories which featured 32 matches played over the span of one month, “a release from the organisers stated.

The categories contested were men’s doubles, ladies doubles, mixed doubles and men’s Over 45 doubles and the tournament, which commenced early December was once again delayed because of bad weather and a shortage of tennis facilities. But this did not dampen the spirits of the players who passionately completed their matches at the Le Ressouvenir Tennis Club. Trophies were handed over by Trophy Stall representative Eshwar Bharrat.

According to the release, the GTA intends to bring this tournament forward in 2018 to escape the inclement weather that usually plagues the smooth scheduling of matches during the tournament.

Those receiving prizes were: Men’s Doubles Winners: – Phillip Squires/Joseph DeJonge, Runners up Heimraj Resaul and Jordon Beaton. Women’s Doubles: Winners Afruica Gentle/Cristy Campbell, Runners up Shelly Ramdyhan/Fiona Bushell. Mixed Doubles: Winner Shelly Ramdyhan/Phillip Squires, Runners up Afruica Gentle/Devon Gonsalves. Men’s 45 and over: Winner Godfrey Lowden and Anthony Ameerally, Runners up Dr. Steve Surujbally and Robin Singh.

Around the Web