Crawford wins GCF first points race of the season

Romello Crawford

One day after placing second in the National Park, Romello Crawford took his talents to the open road yesterday and emerged winner of the first Guyana Cycling Federation (GCF) Points race of the season.

Crawford stopped the clock in three hours, 10 minutes and A seconds for the 65-mile event which was staged from Homestretch Avenue to Loo Creek on the Linden/Soesdyke Highway and back.

With the win, Crawford earned a maximum 15 points. Jamal John and Andrew Hicks joined him on the podium to ride away with 12 and 10 points respectively.

Curtis Dey who won Saturday’s feature 35-lap event, finished fourth to earn eight points while Hamza Eastman and Paul DeNobrega got six and five points in that order.

Deeraj Garbarran (four points), Brighton John (three points), Chris Griffith (two points) and Jornell Yearwood (one point) were the other riders in the top 10 of 31 starters. According to Assistant Racing Secretary, Joseph Britton, the next GCF points race is scheduled to be staged on the last Sunday in February.

Around the Web