CPL domestic season to bowl off in August

The sixth annual of what is rated as one of the hottest T20 events on the cricket calendar, the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will now take place early August to mid-September and open the domestic season for the West Indies.

Agreed upon by CPL and Cricket West Indies (CWI) the ‘biggest party in sport’ will begin August 8th with the opening rounds taking place in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago.

This decision was finalized after it was posited that based on the international timeline, all West Indian players will be available.

Pete Russell, Chief Operating Officer of the Hero CPL when speaking on the issue of having it available on a time when there are no international obligations for West Indies players, said: “Here in the Caribbean we are blessed with some of the most exciting cricketers in the world and it is fantastic news that all West Indies players will be available in 2018. It will help make the Biggest Party in Sport even bigger.”

Johnny Grave, CEO of Cricket West Indies, said: “The Hero CPL is now the start of our domestic season and we are delighted that we have found a window when all of the best cricketers from the Caribbean will be available to take part. We are sure that 2018 will be the biggest season yet.”

Guyana Amazon Warriors have been hunting the title since the birth of the tournament back in 2013 having made the finals on three occasions and finishing third on the other two seasons. Trinbago Knight Riders and Jamaica Tallawahs have both won the title twice while Barbados Tridents have won it once.

As per history of the tournament six teams will compete for the title with St. Lucia Zouks and St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots being the other two teams.

Around the Web