Crawford elected to lead Cricket Umpires Council

Umpire Shannon Crawford will now lead the Guyana Cricket Umpires Council (GCUC) after he was elected as the new president when the GCUC held their Biennial General Meeting on Sunday at the Mayor and City Council Union Hall, Woolford Avenue.

With two lists submitted, Crawford was unopposed for the post after being elected as Vice President of the organisation two years ago.

While Crawford was not present at the meeting, he had written a letter stating the reason for his absence, as to be in Antigua for the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Regional Super 50 tournament. Meanwhile his deputy will be Demerara Umpires and Cricket Scorers Association president, Arleigh Rutherford.

Rutherford when contacted said, “I am charging the council to provide the leadership required to advance the association and to encourage the general membership to hold the executives accountable.”

Nolan Hawke replaces Nigel Duguid as Secretary, who did not seek re-election to the post, as Edward Nicolls returns as Treasurer. Javid Persaud made his debut on the council as Assistant Secretary/ Treasurer while Mathew Kissoon took on the responsibility of Public Relations Officer.

The committee members now comprise of Zabier Zakeer, Moses Ramphal, Joseph Jeffrey and Yosef Yisrael. Dawchand Nagassar was nominated by Berbice but did not show up or send a letter expressing his interest in the post, or give a reason for his absence.

In accordance to the rules of the council, the absence of a nominated person at the time of election shall not disqualify him /her from the election, provided he / she has forwarded to the Secretary in writing his /her consent to accept office if elected.

Around the Web