Bollers replaces injured Reddy in Demerara squad

-U17 Inter-County tourney bowls off today

Georgetown’s Wayne Bollers will replace injured West Bank fast bowler Joshua Reddy in the Demerara squad for the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Inter-County U17 tournament which begins today.

Reddy suffered an injury to his left knee during the Inter-Association competition and has been ruled out for two months.

Bollers is the only newcomer in the reduced 14-member squad following a training session at the Gandhi Youth Organization, ground, Woolford Avenue yesterday.

The Demerara team will be captained by West Indies Under-15 captain Sachin Singh and will have its first outing against Essequibo at the Lusignan Community Center Ground today.

Essequibo will be led by National U-15 wicketkeeper/batsman Lance Roberts with Sheldon Charles as his deputy.

Meanwhile, defending champions Berbice will have a lot to handle when they come up against the National U-15 squad at the Georgetown Cricket Club ground, Bourda.

Berbice will be captained by Jevon Schultz.

Meanwhile, Berbice Cricket Board, president Hilbert Foster Monday urged the Berbice 14-man Under-17 squad to represent the Ancient County with pride, passion and commitment.

The newly elected President was speaking at a specially arranged meeting of the players, their parents and team Management at the Albion Cricket Ground.

Berbice, Foster stated was known around the cricketing world as the Home of Legends such as Rohan Kanhai, John Trim, Basil Butcher, Joe Solomon, Ivan Madray, Alvin Kallicharran, Roy Fredericks and Leonard Baichan.

Addressing the full house of cricketers and parents, Foster spoke widely on the importance of team unity, personal discipline, hard work and commitment.

No form of indiscipline would be tolerated as the Management of the team has been authorised to send home players who break the Berbice Cricket Board Code of Conduct.

He urged the attentive parents to be positive role models to their children and to instill in them, the formula necessary for success. He committed the Berbice Cricket Board to investing in the players future and announced that 2018 would be remembered as the year that Berbice cricket was returned to its rightful place as the best in Guyana.

The Berbice Cricket Board, he stated would be organising a record number of tournaments at all age group and he urged the players to take full advantage of the opportunities to foster their careers.

The Berbice Cricket Board has also committed itself to honour the Under-17 team if they clinch the Inter-county Championship. Additionally, the Most Valuable Player would also be honoured. The newly elected President also disclosed that at the end of the Guyana Cricket Board Inter-county Championship for all levels, the Berbice Cricket Board would select an overall Most Valuable Player who would receive a Motor Cycle as the top prize.

Vice President and Chairman of the Berbice Cricket Board Cricket Development Committee Albert Smith urged the fourteen man squad to work as a unit and to celebrate each others’ success. A highly successful Cricket Coach at the Inter-county and National levels, Smith stated that he was confident that the Management team of former National players Andre Percival and Delbert Hicks would bring the best out of the players.

The matches begin from 09:30h and will continue on Friday and Sunday.

Berbice team: Jevon Schultz (Captain), Ricardo Ramdehol, Fawaz Gafoor, Jarron France, Marvin Prashad, Nigel Deodat, Seon Glasgow, Chanderpaul Govindan, Mohabir Seeraj, Abdul Ramsammy, Gourav Ramesh, Doorasammy Mahadeo, Saif Amoi, Quincy Auldles, (Manager) Delbert Hicks, (Coach) Andrew Percival.

Sachin Singh, Navindra Persaud, Garrick Persaud, Hemnauth Dindyal, Dwayne Dick, Andre Seepersaud, Andrew Samaroo, Yeudister Persaud, Sourav Singh, Niron Bissu, Marlon Boele, Jason Holder, Trevon Charles, Wayne Bollers

Essequibo team: Lance Roberts (Captain), Sheldon Charles, Ameer Singh, Wasim Mohamed, Azim Mohamed, Saeed Hakh, Badesh Parsotam, Mahesh Ramnarine, Romario Stephen, Lallchand Seeram, Manoj Basrath, Sylvian, Williams, Arvind Permaul, Jason Payne, (Manager) Nazeer Mohamed, (Coach) Nandkishore Andrews.

Select Under-15 team: Mahendra Gopilall, Nicholas Rajpat, Mavendra Dindyal, Shamar Yearwood,  Zeynul Ramsammy, Tomanni Caesar, Chanderpaul Ramraj, Romel Datterdeen, Ronaldo Souten, Jonathan Rampersaud, Jeremey Sandia, Zachary Jodah, Revoldo Phillips, Shafeik Khan, Isai Thorne, Antwone Alexander, Thaddeus Lovell, Ajay Gainda, Gladewin Henry, Safie Shazad, (Manager) Latchman Yadram, (Coach) Winston Smith.

Around the Web